Marketing: Home

Where to Find Different Types of Marketing Research

MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
MRI Simmons Catalyst is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. For help using Simmons Insights, see this tip sheet. Use is limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
NOTE: You will need to create an account to download data. See this tip sheet about how to register:

Has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Also reports on specific demographics (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.), and specific themes (convenience, ethical, social media, mobile, etc.). Includes some global coverage.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
This web-based mapping application allows users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM&‌Acirc; Data Packages.
RKMA Market Research Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Access to current and archival handbooks on categories such as B2B Marketing, Consumer Behavior, Entertainment & Leisure Market Research, Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research, Retail & E-Commerce Market Research, Sports Marketing, Travel & Tourism Market Research

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
A resource for full-text industrial market research reports. Reports are available in variety of areas including mining, construction, wholesale and retail distribution, manufacturing, agriculture, transportation, education, financial services, arts, entertainment, accommodations and food service, and more. Search by keyword, NAICS or SIC codes.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
This resource provides U.S. and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analyst reports. Previously known as OneSource. 50 simultaneous users.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Pitchbook has set the login to an SSO. Instructions for accessing Pitchbook can be found here.

The PitchBook platform provides access to information about private companies, venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions for startups and high growth companies, including pre- and post-money valuations, investment amounts, investment round (seed, series a, etc.), angel group and institutional investor names, and investee information (founder and CEO names, location, age, degrees, etc.). Provided and managed by the Farmer School of Business Entrepreneurship Department.
In addition to transactional data, PitchBook also provides detailed information on institutional investment firms (for both venture capital and private equity), including the partners/directors at each firm, the limited partners, individual fund amount and performance, investment portfolio (by fund), and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Also includes company, industry, and country reports covering both domestic and international. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
eMarketer This link opens in a new window
Provides charts, forecasts, and reports on marketing, advertising, ecommerce, finance, healthcare, and tech industries with an emphasis on consumer behavior.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
This web-based mapping application allows users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM&‌Acirc; Data Packages.
Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles from 14 sports-business publications, as well as 2,500 + tables covering participation, attendance, consumer expenditures, and market shares for 34 sports and fitness activities. Also features a directory information for amateur and professional sporting organizations, venues, trade associations, etc.
RKMA Market Research Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Access to the following handbooks: Business to Business Marketing, Consumer Behavior, Consumer Marketing, Entertainment, Media and Advertising Market Research Handbook, Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook, International Consumer Markets, Leisure Market Research Handbook, Restaurant, Food and Beverage Market Research Handbook, Retail Business Market Research Handbook, Sports Marketing, Travel and Tourism Market Research Handbook.

eMarketer This link opens in a new window
Provides charts, forecasts, and reports on marketing, advertising, ecommerce, finance, healthcare, and tech industries with an emphasis on consumer behavior.
SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new window
SRDS contains advertising rates, circulation data, audience metrics and contact information for print and online trade journals and consumer magazines. Limited information is available for newspapers, out-of-home advertising, online advertising, and international publications. SRDS also provides access to Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions data. This allows you to create reports based on metro areas or zip codes and includes consumer demographic and segmentation information as well as PRIZM data. Limited content from Claritas 360 can be accessed through SRDS..
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Also includes company, industry, and country reports covering both domestic and international. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This is a news database that includes regional business journals, newspapers, newswires, and now blogs, covering all areas of the U.S.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
This includes full-text coverage of many major U.S. and international newspapers. It also includes television and radio transcripts, and business and trade journals as well as company reports and financial data. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

If single sign on fails use this url:
https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=https://www.nexisuni.com
7/10/2024. NEXIS UNI.
http://www.nexisuni.com IN A-Z taken out
Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Go to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months from an on campus location, as prompted by the NYT

Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
An extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. It consists of country guides, which include information on business, climate, culture and society, demographics and economics, education, government, health, history, maps, religion, and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find data on brands, companies, products, and consumers in different countries or overall global trends.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories. Information includes regional and country profiles, information on physical and social geography, history, economy, and country and comparative statistics. It also provides directory information for governmental, society, media, and business enterprises.

AdAge

Covering advertising since 1930. Some articles are behind a paywall.
AdWeek

Breaking news in advertising, media and technology.
Deloitte Insights

In-depth reports, articles, infographics, etc. on industries, economies, and consumer trends.
McKinsey & Company

Insights on markets, trends, and emerging best practices, in many industries and regions.
Nielsen Insights

Consumer and market data, with especially useful demographic reports.
Pew Research Center

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.