MKT 291: Home

Resources for Mkt 291

Databases

Consumer Data

MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
MRI Simmons Insights is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. For help using Simmons Insights, see this tip sheet. Use is limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel has full-text in-depth market research reports on many types of products. Mintel offers insights into consumer behavior, preferences and market share . It also reports on specific demographics including Black, Hispanic and Asian consumers.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM&‌Acirc; Data Packages.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Great source for general statistics and specifically for marketing and consumer statistics - make sure to copy and paste the citation for each statistic, available by clicking on the "quote" icon.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.

Market & Industry Research

eMarketer This link opens in a new window
Provides charts, forecasts, and reports on marketing, advertising, ecommerce, finance, healthcare, and tech industries with an emphasis on consumer behavior. Also includes a variety of subtopics on marketing including social media marketing.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Ibisworld is a source for in-depth full-text industry market research reports (US only). It can be a bit tricky to find the right keywords. For laundry detergents and household cleaners look for: Soap & Cleaning Compound Manufacturing in the US; For beauty products: Cosmetic & Beauty Products Manufacturing in the US; For paper towels, etc: Sanitary Paper Product Manufacturing in the US
Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new window
Great source for sports and fan participation and expenditure data.

Company Research

Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
Hoover's is a great source of company information including SWOT Analyses and industry data.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Pitchbook has set the login to an SSO. Instructions for accessing Pitchbook can be found here.

The PitchBook platform provides access to information about private companies, venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions for startups and high growth companies, including pre- and post-money valuations, investment amounts, investment round (seed, series a, etc.), angel group and institutional investor names, and investee information (founder and CEO names, location, age, degrees, etc.). Provided and managed by the Farmer School of Business Entrepreneurship Department.
In addition to transactional data, PitchBook also provides detailed information on institutional investment firms (for both venture capital and private equity), including the partners/directors at each firm, the limited partners, individual fund amount and performance, investment portfolio (by fund), and more.

Article Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing. Also includes full-text articles from Forbes, Fortune, Advertising Age, Journal of Marketing, Wall Street Journal articles, etc..

It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.

Cultural Diversity Resources

Pew Research Center - Hispanics

Course Handouts

Advertising Resources

Online/Social Media

The Comprehensive Guide to Online Advertising Costs

TV Costs

Cost of a 30-second commercial on broadcast TV 2020-21
Network TV Commercial Costs 2019-20
Older data, but goes in depth about costs for TV commercials outside of the top 10 shows.
TV Ratings
Cable Network Demographics
TV Advertising Costs & Tips

Cable Network Directory

Newspapers & Magazines

SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new window
This database has advertising rate information for US and international newspapers and magazines, as well as contact information for out-of-home advertising and online advertising providers.