Social Media & Digital Consumer Behavior
Sources for Consumer Reports - Best Bets
- Nielsen InsightsConsumer and market data, with especially useful demographic reports.
- McKinsey & CompanyInsights on markets, trends, and emerging best practices, in many industries and regions.
- Deloitte InsightsIn-depth reports, articles, infographics, etc. on industries, economies, and consumer trends.
- Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
Databases
Consumer Data
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowMintel has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Mintel also reports on specific demographics (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.), and specific themes (convenience, ethical, social media, mobile, etc.).
- MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new windowMRI Simmons is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. It also is a source of market share data. For instructions on logging in and using this product, see the MRI Simmons Tips and Tricks
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowSimplyAnalytics is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
- Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new windowGreat source for sports and fan participation and expenditure data.
Market & Advertising Data
- Statista This link opens in a new windowGreat source for marketing and consumer statistics - make sure to copy and paste the citation for each statistic, available on the right side of the screen.
- SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new windowThis database has advertising rate information for US and international newspapers and magazines, as well as contact information for out-of-home advertising and online advertising providers. There is NO information for TV or Radio advertising in this source.
- eMarketer This link opens in a new windowProvides charts, forecasts, and reports on marketing, advertising, ecommerce, finance, healthcare, and tech industries with an emphasis on consumer behavior.
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowOn campus access only. BCC Research provides detailed market research reports in emerging industries including biotech, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, and information technology.
To login click on the Member Login button, then the IP Authenticate button.
Company News and Data
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete includes full-text articles from Forbes, Fortune, Advertising Age, Journal of Marketing, etc. Also links to Wall Street Journal articles.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIbisworld is a source for in-depth full-text manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, and service industry market research reports. Ibisworld reports are only available for the US.
- Marketline This link opens in a new windowMarketline is an excellent source for US and international company reports and also market research industry reports.
- Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new windowHoover's is a great source of company and industry data.
- AnnualReports.comFor specific financial information about particular product lines, this is your best bet.
- PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Pitchbook has set the login to an SSO. Instructions for accessing Pitchbook can be found here.
The PitchBook platform provides access to information about private companies, venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions for startups and high growth companies, including pre- and post-money valuations, investment amounts, investment round (seed, series a, etc.), angel group and institutional investor names, and investee information (founder and CEO names, location, age, degrees, etc.). Provided and managed by the Farmer School of Business Entrepreneurship Department.
