Subject & Course Guides: MKT 211: Home

Other Useful Sites and Tools

Claritas Zipcode segments
Click on an individual segment to get more details about consumers in that group and see a map of where they live.
ESRI Zipcode lookup
Includes Community Lifestyle and Demographic Information for specific zipcodes.
GlassDoor
Use this to find information about working at a company, company reviews, etc.
LinkedIn
Use this to find who works at specific companies and connect with them.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Government publication with occupational statistics and information on specific career choices and background necessary.
Thomas Registry
Use this to find companies and suppliers of specific products.
VALS Segments
Covers 8 VALS Types, includes links to survey and sample demographics.
Your Guide to B2B Sales: Steps and Tips for Successful Sales
B2B basics from the Motley Fool

B2B Books

B2B Marketing by Uwe G. Seebacher (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030542917
Publication Date: 2021-05-04
This unique book comprehensively presents the current state of knowledge, theoretical and practical alike, in the field of business-to-business (B2B) marketing.
The Complete Guide to B2B Marketing by Kim Ann King
ISBN: 9780134084527
Publication Date: 2015-04-20
To succeed at B2B marketing today, you must excel across all areas: from getting your message out, to generating demand, to enabling sales teams.

NYT & WSJ; Cincy Business Courier

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Go to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months from an on campus location, as prompted by the NYT
Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
Cincinnati Business Courier This link opens in a new window
The latest business news from the Cincinnati Business Courier. This has full access to all 44 other local business journals owned by American City Business Journals.

Subscription is provided by Miami's Center for Career Exploration and Success.

Click 'More info' for registration instructions.
- Go to the Cincinnati Business Courier registration page.
- Enter your Miami email address
- Create a password
- Enter your zip code
- Select any newsletters or alerts you'd like to receive
- On the next Group Subscriptions screen - MUST click on Miami University Center for Exploration & Success. If this is skipped your account will be created, but you will not have unlocked access.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: Cincinnati Business Courier

Best Bets for Industry (B2B) Information

SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new window
Use this to find trade journals, their circulation and advertising cost information, and information on who reads them, both in print and online.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Source for excellent in-depth industry reports.
Marketline This link opens in a new window
Marketline is an excellent source for Industry reports and reports on large US and international companies.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
This is a source for company information and create lists of companies by location or industry (i.e. NAICS Codes). Also note that you will find MUCH more information on companies that are publicly traded on a stock exchange, versus privately held companies.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Use this for trade journal and business news articles. Use the Choose Databases button ABOVE the search boxes to add in other relevant Ebsco databases like Regional Business News.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Use this to create maps and tables. It includes business location data also. Search by NAICS codes or the business name.
Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM&‌Acirc; Data Packages.

Consumer Focused (B2C) Data Sources

MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
MRI Simmons Insights is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. For help using this product, see the MRI Simmons Tip Sheet
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Mintel also reports on specific demographics (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.), and specific themes (convenience, ethical, social media, mobile, etc.).
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Very useful for finding articles in consumer magazines and information on consumer behavior, trends, sales, etc. Use the Choose Databases button ABOVE the search boxes to add in other relevant Ebsco databases like Masterfile Premier, PsychInfo, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, etc.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
RKMA Market Research Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Access to the following handbooks: Business to Business Marketing, Consumer Behavior, Consumer Marketing, Entertainment, Media and Advertising Market Research Handbook, Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook, International Consumer Markets, Leisure Market Research Handbook, Restaurant, Food and Beverage Market Research Handbook, Retail Business Market Research Handbook, Sports Marketing, Travel and Tourism Market Research Handbook.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Use this to create maps and tables and includes thousands of demographic and consumer marketing data variables.
Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM&‌Acirc; Data Packages.