Recommended Class Sites
How To Advertise on Social Media
Advertising & Website Monitoring Tools
- Social Media Audit GuideThe data here is older, but the underlying process is still solid advice.
- AppbotSearch for reviews of apps across platforms. Free trial for 14 days.
- AwarioBrand monitoring. You can create a free trial for 14 days.
- Brand24Free trial for 14 days.
- BuzzSumoFind out what content performs best for a brand or topic
- Facebook Ads LibrarySearch all the ads currently running across Meta
- Google TrendsFind trending searches
- iSpotTVFind TV ads and ad spend amounts.
- MozFree SEO tools.
- Rival IQFree tools available. You can get a free trial for 14 days.
- SimilarWebRanks website and app traffic and usage.
- Siteprice Web traffic infoScroll down for all of the website traffic data
- Social SearcherReal-time social media search by simple keyword - you may get some irrelevant results.
- TikTok AdsFind ads on TikTok
- DISQO InsightsThese range from Superbowl ad insights to bots taking online surveys. Each are a report you must provide them with an email, name, etc. to download each report.
- Contact Babel ReportsUS & UK call center/customer experience guides can be found here.
Databases
Consumer Research
- eMarketer This link opens in a new windowProvides charts, forecasts, and reports on marketing, advertising, ecommerce, finance, healthcare, and tech industries with an emphasis on consumer behavior.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowMintel has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Mintel also reports on specific demographics (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.), and specific themes (convenience, ethical, social media, mobile, etc.). You will need to create an account to download information.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowGreat source for marketing and consumer statistics - make sure to copy and paste the citation for each statistic, available on the right side of the screen.
- MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
MRI Simmons Catalyst is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. For help using Simmons Insights, see this tip sheet. Use is limited to 10 simultaneous users.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowSimplyAnalytics is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
- RKMA Market Research Handbooks This link opens in a new windowOnline e-books including "Consumer Use Of The Internet & Mobile Web" and "Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook"
- Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new windowIncludes data on fan markets and digital engagement for major sports.
Company Research
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete includes full-text articles from Forbes, Fortune, Advertising Age, Journal of Marketing, etc. Also links to Wall Street Journal articles.
- Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new windowHoover's is a great source of company and industry data. It includes SWOT analyses and company family trees.
Advertising Research
- SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new windowThis site has data on demographics numbers of unique visitors, and time spent on specific media websites.
Social Media Statistics
- Data Reportal - Global Digital InsightsTracks online behavior across the world.
- Social BladeEasily find the top users on the most popular social media and online platforms.
Social Media & Ecommerce Guides and Trends
Reports
- Roundup of 2024 TrendsOne-stop for predicted trends in media, retail, tech, etc. for 2024 and reports looking back on 2023.
- Smartly.io eBooks and ReportsDigital advertising trends, consumer engagement tips, etc.
- Pinterest PredictsFashion, beauty, lifestyle trends that have seen big upticks on Pinterest.
Websites
- Global Web Index - ResourcesExplore the various categories for insights on conumers, brand marketing, etc.
- HootsuiteStrategies and guides for the most popular social media platforms. The blog also has great insights.
- HubspotHubspot makes marketing managment software, but they also create a lot of free guides and resources. Their blog is also useful: https://blog.hubspot.com/
- Later - BlogLater specializes in Instagram marketing, but their blog has tips for other social media platforms as well.
- MailChartsYou can create a free account.
- Airship - Content LibraryInformation about mobile apps for brands/companies
- Oracle AdvertisingGuides and demos of advertising products.
In Class Exercise
Your Librarian
Your Librarian
Zachary Grisham
Contact:
King Library: Room 201
Email: Grishaz@miamioh.edu
Email: Grishaz@miamioh.edu
513-529-4144
Subjects: Accountancy, Business, Business Legal Studies, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Management, Marketing
NYT & WSJ; Cincy Business Courier
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowGo to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
- Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
- Cincinnati Business Courier This link opens in a new window
The latest business news from the Cincinnati Business Courier. This has full access to all 44 other local business journals owned by American City Business Journals.
Subscription is provided by Miami's Center for Career Exploration and Success.
Click 'More info' for registration instructions.
