Company Website
Sports Research
- Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text articles from 14 sports-business publications, as well as 2,500 + tables covering participation, attendance, consumer expenditures, and market shares for 34 sports and fitness activities. Also features a directory information for amateur and professional sporting organizations, venues, trade associations, etc.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSPORTDiscus with full-text is the definitive database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports.
Company Research
- Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides U.S. and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analyst reports. Previously known as OneSource. 50 simultaneous users.
- PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Pitchbook has set the login to an SSO. Instructions for accessing Pitchbook can be found here.
The PitchBook platform provides access to information about private companies, venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions for startups and high growth companies, including pre- and post-money valuations, investment amounts, investment round (seed, series a, etc.), angel group and institutional investor names, and investee information (founder and CEO names, location, age, degrees, etc.). Provided and managed by the Farmer School of Business Entrepreneurship Department.
Geographic and Demographic Research
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowThis web-based mapping application allows users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Databases
Consumer Best Bets
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowUse this to find information on consumer, their attitudes, opinions and trends.
- MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
MRI Simmons Catalyst is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. For help using Simmons Insights, see this tip sheet. Use is limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Industry/Market Best Bets
- Statista This link opens in a new windowSearch for statistics across 21 market sectors, curated from trade journals, industry associations, government organizations, and scientific research.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowA resource for full-text industrial market research reports. Reports are available in variety of areas including mining, construction, wholesale and retail distribution, manufacturing, agriculture, transportation, education, financial services, arts, entertainment, accommodations and food service, and more. Search by keyword, NAICS or SIC codes.
Marketing Tactics
- SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new windowThis database includes advertising rates, circulation data, audience metrics and contact information for print and online trade journals and consumer magazines. Includes international business and consumer publications.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFind case studies, industry news, and research articles on shaving trends and women's sports.
- eMarketer This link opens in a new windowProvides charts, forecasts, and reports on marketing, advertising, ecommerce, finance, healthcare, and tech industries with an emphasis on consumer behavior.
Shaving & Grooming Articles
Shaving and Sports Sponsorships
Business Librarian
Email: Grishaz@miamioh.edu
Your Librarian
NYT & WSJ; Cincy Business Courier
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowGo to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
- Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
- Cincinnati Business Courier This link opens in a new window
The latest business news from the Cincinnati Business Courier. This has full access to all 44 other local business journals owned by American City Business Journals.
Subscription is provided by Miami's Center for Career Exploration and Success.
Click 'More info' for registration instructions.
