Subject & Course Guides: MKT 495: Home

Credit Union Basics

MyCreditUnion.gov
Explains the difference between credit unions and banks, includes additional resources.
CUInsight
News and links to many other relevant stories
Credit Union Times
News and other resources
CUNA
Credit Union National Association - professional organization.
CUNA Report - Credit Union Awareness
National Credit Union Administration (NCUA)
The national regulator of credit unions and insurer of their deposits. Page links to their data about the industry.
Barnes Report: Credit Unions Industry
World Council of Credit Unions

Parental Influence

Social Influence

Personal Values

Search Tips

Use library databases to find credible research, listed below:
- Business Source Complete
- EconLit
- Academic Search Complete - will round up articles under education and family studies, and psychology for financial attitudes
Use references within articles to find additional sources.
Brainstorm synonyms to use as keywords for searching.
- Financial socialization, personal finance can get you started - use other words you encounter through the resources on this page to think of others.
Beware of using sources from ChatGPT - they are often fake. Always doublecheck the information for accuracy at the original source.
There are LOTS of scammy financial websites, and even trusted ones often have sponsored posts that are not easy to identify. Use your critical thinking and stay vigilant.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Source for excellent in-depth industry reports including credit unions in the US; their competitors - traditional commercial, industrial, and savings and loans banks; and the credit card industry.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Source for US & International statistics, infographics, country reports, and market research survey data.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
This is a source for company information and creating lists of companies in specific industries and in geographic areas.
Marketline This link opens in a new window
Marketline consists of reports on 10,000 companies in the US and internationally, as well as 2,000 industry reports and in-depth country and city reports. It also includes mergers & acquisitions data.

eMarketer This link opens in a new window
Reports on ad spending, demographics, marketing, and finance sectors.
SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new window
Use this to find business (trade) and consumer magazines targeting bankers and consumers.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Use this to create maps and tables showing where people live that fit into specific demographic or psychographic groups, or find businesses in particular geographic areas. US only.
Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM&‌Acirc; Data Packages.

MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
MRI Simmons Catalyst is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. For help using Simmons Insights, see this tip sheet. Use is limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Reports on personal banking and finance trends.
NOTE: You will need to create an account to download data. See this tip sheet about how to register

New York Times This link opens in a new window
If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months from an on campus location, as prompted by the NYT
Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Cincinnati Business Courier This link opens in a new window
- Go to the Cincinnati Business Courier registration page.
- Enter your Miami email address
- Create a password
- Enter your zip code
- Select any newsletters or alerts you'd like to receive
- On the next Group Subscriptions screen - MUST click on Miami University Center for Exploration & Success. If this is skipped your account will be created, but you will not have unlocked access.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: Cincinnati Business Courier