Subject & Course Guides: LSAMP Early Arrival Program: Business Guide

Research Type	Databases
Consumer research	MRI Simmons, Mintel, Statista, SimplyAnalytics
Industry research	IBISWorld, MarketLine, Key Business Ratios, BCC Research
Company research (SWOT Analyses)	Hoover’s, MarketLine, Business Source Complete
Advertising information	SRDS, eMarketer, Statista
Finance information	Mergent, Bond Viewer, WRDS, FactSet
International research	MarketLine, Statista, Global Road Warrior

Business Database Tutorials

Find video tutorials on all of our business databases on this YouTube playlist

Getting Started Best Bets

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete indexes thousands of popular and scholarly business journals, many of which are available in full-text.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Great source for business statistics - use the limiters on the left side to limit by country or type of data. Download as a PowerPoint, PDF, etc.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
eMarketer This link opens in a new window
Provides charts, forecasts, and reports on marketing, advertising, ecommerce, finance, healthcare, and tech industries with an emphasis on consumer behavior.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Ibisworld is a source for in-depth full-text manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, and service industry market research reports. Ibisworld reports are only available for the US.
Marketline This link opens in a new window
Marketline is an excellent source for US and international market research reports, company reports, including SWOT analyses, and country reports.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
OneSource is a comprehensive business database, providing US and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analysts reports.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Use to create maps and tables using a variety of demographic and marketing variables.
Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM&‌Acirc; Data Packages.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva includes full-text coverage of all the major US and international newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, London Financial Times, etc.

NYT & WSJ; Cincy Business Courier

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Go to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months from an on campus location, as prompted by the NYT
Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
Cincinnati Business Courier This link opens in a new window
The latest business news from the Cincinnati Business Courier. This has full access to all 44 other local business journals owned by American City Business Journals.

Subscription is provided by Miami's Center for Career Exploration and Success.

Click 'More info' for registration instructions.
- Go to the Cincinnati Business Courier registration page.
- Enter your Miami email address
- Create a password
- Enter your zip code
- Select any newsletters or alerts you'd like to receive
- On the next Group Subscriptions screen - MUST click on Miami University Center for Exploration & Success. If this is skipped your account will be created, but you will not have unlocked access.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: Cincinnati Business Courier