BUS 284: Home

Useful Journals

NYT & WSJ; Cincy Business Courier

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Go to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months from an on campus location, as prompted by the NYT
Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
Cincinnati Business Courier This link opens in a new window
The latest business news from the Cincinnati Business Courier. This has full access to all 44 other local business journals owned by American City Business Journals.

Subscription is provided by Miami's Center for Career Exploration and Success.

Click 'More info' for registration instructions.
- Go to the Cincinnati Business Courier registration page.
- Enter your Miami email address
- Create a password
- Enter your zip code
- Select any newsletters or alerts you'd like to receive
- On the next Group Subscriptions screen - MUST click on Miami University Center for Exploration & Success. If this is skipped your account will be created, but you will not have unlocked access.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: Cincinnati Business Courier

Relevant Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Use this to find journals such as Harvard Business Review, Business Communication Quarterly, etc. Also will link you to full text articles in the Wall Street Journal.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Use this to find journal articles in Journal of Intercultural Communication, Intercultural Communication Studies, Journal of Communication & Cultural Studies, etc.
Furthermore, this database includes full-text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
Marketline This link opens in a new window
Use this for country reports, as well as industry and company reports for businesses in specific countries.

Country Commercial Guides
Use this for country reports and information about doing business in different countries.

Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Use this to find market research data including information on lifestyles of consumers. Includes reports about consumer behavior abroad (primarily the UK, Germany, and China).
Statista This link opens in a new window
Use this to find statistics about different demographic or cultural groups. Use the Citation tool on the left side of the screen to get a correct citation for the data.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
Use this to create lists of companies meeting specific criteria like industry or company location. Also use to research individual companies, get SEC filings, SWOT reports, etc.

Useful Websites

Commisceo Global Country Guides
Language, Culture, Customs and Business Etiquette
Hofstede Insights
Comprehensive studies of how values in the workplace are influenced by culture.
Michigan State Global Edge Cultural sites
Variety of international culture resources, including Hofstede's global dimensions.

Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
An extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. It consists of country guides, which include information on business, climate, culture and society, demographics and economics, education, government, health, history, maps, religion, and more.