BUS 101: Home

Library Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Use this source to find full-text magazine and trade journal articles. Use the Choose Databases link ABOVE the Search Boxes to add in other relevant databases & search them simultaneously.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
Use for company reports and financial data
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Good source for reports on US industries. Hint - Look especially at the Sector Outlooks piece, as well as other relevant areas such as technology, (in the Operating Conditions section).
Marketline This link opens in a new window
Use this for US and International Industry reports
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel has market research survey data covering consumer segments such as specific demographic groups and consumer goods including travel, etc.
RKMA Market Research Handbooks This link opens in a new window
These are full-text market research that include information on Consumer Behavior and Retail Business Market Research.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a statistical mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM&‌Acirc; Data Packages.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Great source for all types of statistics - use the "quote" icon to get an APA or MLA citation for the data.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.

Diversity/Inclusion Resources

Find DEI resources on this page

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion: C-Suite Executives

Reports & Articles about CEO Diversity

Deloitte Article: Diversifying the path to CEO in financial services

Applied Economics Letters: Simultaneous Board and CEO diversity: Does it increase firm value?

Crist Kolder Associates, (go to page 40) Volatility Report 2019

Gender Pay Gap

Women in the Workplace 2021
A McKinsey Report

Gender Pay Gap More Resources

Business Insider Article: Asking for what you want is great career advice - if you’re a man

HBR Article: Women ask for raises as often as men, but are unlikely to get them

American Banker: Stay Relevant (But Not with Lady Snack Chips)

American Banker: How CITI Will Shrink its Pay Gap and Beware Those Freshman Renegades

American Banker: The Weak Points in Banks’ Rosy Gender Pay-Gap Numbers

Diversity Among IT Workers

Diversity in Technology White Paper

ESG Resources

What Is Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) Investing?
Five ways that ESG creates value (McKinsey Quarterly)
ESG News, Research & Analysis
Tectonic shifts: How ESG is changing business, moving markets, and driving regulation (Deloitte)
America's Most Responsible Companies 2022
ResponsibilityReports.com
Find ESG and other corporate responsibility reports for companies here.
Tesla's Impact Report 2021

ESG Investing for Dummies by Brendan Bradley
ISBN: 9781119771098
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
Your guide to investing for a more sustainable world.

NYT & WSJ; Cincy Business Courier

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Go to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months from an on campus location, as prompted by the NYT
Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
Cincinnati Business Courier This link opens in a new window
The latest business news from the Cincinnati Business Courier. This has full access to all 44 other local business journals owned by American City Business Journals.

Subscription is provided by Miami's Center for Career Exploration and Success.

Click 'More info' for registration instructions.
- Go to the Cincinnati Business Courier registration page.
- Enter your Miami email address
- Create a password
- Enter your zip code
- Select any newsletters or alerts you'd like to receive
- On the next Group Subscriptions screen - MUST click on Miami University Center for Exploration & Success. If this is skipped your account will be created, but you will not have unlocked access.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: Cincinnati Business Courier