Regulating Cryptocurrency
- Cryptocurrency Regulation TrackerFrom the Atlantic Council policy center. US and international coverage.
- The competing priorities facing U.S. crypto regulationsFrom Brookings.
- Financial Stability Board - Crypto-assets and Global “Stablecoins”The Financial Stability Board (FSB) is an international body that monitors and makes recommendations about the global financial system.
- Issues, Risks and Regulatory Considerations Relating to Crypto-Asset Trading PlatformsFrom IOSCO, the International Organization of Securities Commissions
- Regulation of Cryptocurrency Around the World: November 2021 UpdateFrom the Law Library of Congress.
US Government Agencies
- SEC - Crypto Assets - Investor.govConsumer focused informational website
- Joint Statement on Crypto-Asset Risks to Banking OrganizationsFrom the Federal Reserve, the FDIC, and the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency - all bank regulators
- Complaint Bulletin: An analysis of consumer complaints related to crypto-asssetsFrom the Consumer Finance Protection Board
- CFTC Digital AssetsFrom the Commodities Futures Trading Commission
- FINRA - Investor EducationFINRA is the regulator for investment broker-dealers. This guide is their explainer for investors about crypto.
Cryptocurrency Think Tanks
- Coin CenterA pro-crypto think tank
- PWC Crypto CenterAnalysis of cryptocurrency for businesses
- BIS Bulletin - Crypto shocks and retail lossesFrom the Bank of International Settlements
Cryptocurrency Websites
- Bitcoin Original PaperThe original paper by Satoshi Nakamoto introducing the idea of Bitcoin.
- Coinbase - What is cryptocurrency?Coinbase is a large crypto broker. This primer helps explain how crypto assets work.
- ChainanalysisAnalysis is sometimes posted directly on their Twitter feed.
- Cryptocurrency User Survey - KaperskyKapersky is a cybersecurity company.
- Cointelegraph MagazineLongform articles, parent site is cointelegraph.com
Legal Research Best Bets
Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowSource for Business articles, both scholarly and from popular sources like Wall Street Journal and Harvard Business Review. Can be searched simultaneously with other Ebsco database such as Econlit, Human Resources Abstracts, Legal Collection, and Philosopher's Index.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowIn depth source for law review articles and federal and state legal cases, and federal codes & statutes. Also includes laws from other countries.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowGood source for law review articles. Also includes the Code of Federal Regulations, congressional documents and US Statutes, among many other sources.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowIncludes information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities, most as full-text.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowThis provides access to CIS Legislative Histories for public laws (legislative histories are collections of government documents that show the path from idea to law.) as well as other government documents like hearings.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowUse this to find statistics in many areas - industry, social media, demographics, etc.
- Marketline This link opens in a new windowSearch in Company Reports for tailored news results and company information.
Law & Policy Websites
- CRS Reports - Official SiteCongressional Research Service (CRS) reports are non-partisan reports created for Congress members and staff to explain a topic. The official site has the most recent reports, however, some older reports may not be available.
- Every CRS ReportUnofficial site. Limit by date to see newer reports, and older reports that were not easily findable from the official site can often be found here.
- Legal Information Institute - Cornell LawEasy to understand but comprehensive guide to US law.
- LLSDC's Legislative Source BookWritten by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, DC. Thorough explanation of how federal law is written, how to find federal law and regulations, and more.
News
- Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new windowCurrent faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click 'More info' for registration instructions.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowGo to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
Hearings in the Senate Banking Committee
- Crypto Crash - why financial system safeguards are needed for digital assets (2/14/23)
- Crypto crash - why the FTX bubble burst and the harm to consumers (12/14/22)
- Protecting investors and savers - understanding scams and risks in crypto and securities markets (7/28/22)
- understanding the role of digital assets in illicit finance (3/17/22)
- examining the president's working group on financial markets report on stablecoins (2/15/22)
- stablecoins: how do they work, how are they used, and what are their risks (12/14/21)
- cryptocurrencies: what are they good for? (7/27/21)
Proposed Legislation
- Sen. Cynthia Lummis (R-WY) and Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY) S. 4356 -"Lummis-Gillibrand Responsible Financial Innovation Act (bill text) - press release / section by section of the bill
- Sen. Stabenow (D-MI) and Sen. Boozman (R-AR) Legislation - Digital Commodities Consumer Protection Act of 2022 (bill text) / press release / 1-pager / section by section
- Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-MA) and Sen. Roger Marshall (R-KS) - Digital Asset Anti-Money Laundering Act of 2022 (bill text) / press release / 1-pager
Cryptocurrency and Cybercrime
- FAFT Focus on Virtual AssetsFAFT (Financial Action Task Force) is the inter-governmental body sets international standards against money laundering and terrorist financing.
Library Handout
Your Librarian
Cryptocurrency Ebooks
Cryptocurrencies by
The advent of new digital currencies has challenged our notions about money, its function and purpose, and our faith in the financial and banking structures that underpin its legitimacy. Oonagh McDonald examines the challenges, opportunities and threats that cryptocurrencies pose to existing fiat currencies and their potential to change how global finance operates. From Bitcoin to Facebook's Diem, the book charts the spectacular rise of cryptocurrencies over the past decade alongside the much slower regulatory response. It assesses the potential of the technology underpinning new digital currencies - blockchain, digital tokens and smart contracts - to evade existing regulatory frameworks and considers the need for more robust protection from fraudulent initial coin offerings, scams and hacks. The book examines the motivations of central banks as they begin to explore opportunities for an alternative global digital currency, and what this might mean for the supremacy of the dollar and other fiat currencies. The future of cash is also considered. Throughout her analysis, McDonald shows that trust is fundamental to the operation of finance and that this will ultimately protect commercial bank money from the threat of new digital currencies. The book offers readers an insightful appraisal of the future of money and the challenges facing regulatory bodies.
ISBN: 9781788214209Publication Date: 2021-10-07
Cryptocurrencies and the Regulatory Challenge by
As a social process that places great stock in its stability and predictability, law does not deal easily or well with change. In a modern world that is in a constant and rapid state of flux, law is being placed under considerable stress in its efforts to fulfill its task as a primary regulator of social and economic behaviour. This challenge is particularly acute in the realm of technology and its profound ramifications for social and economic behaviour. The innovative Techno-Age not only offers fresh ways of handling old problems, but also throws up entirely new problems; traditional ways of thinking about and responding to these old and new problems and their optimal resolution are no longer as tenable as many once thought. One such example is the burgeoning world of cryptocurrencies - this peer-to-peer digital network presents a profound challenge to the status quo of the financial services sector, to the established modes of state-backed fiat currency, and to the regulatory authority and reach of law. Taken together, these related challenges demand the urgent attention of jurists, lawyers and law reformers. It is the future and relevance of legal regulation as much as cryptocurrency that is at stake. This book proposes an approach to regulating cryptocurrency that recognises and retains its innovative and transformative potential, but also identifies and deals with some of its less appealing qualities and implications.
ISBN: 9781000466683Publication Date: 2021-11-10
Understanding Blockchain and Cryptocurrencies by
Whether you are a project manager looking to lead blockchain projects, a developer who would like to create blockchain-based applications, or a student with an interest, this book will provide you with the foundational understanding that you need. You have probably noticed that blockchains are growing in popularity. Governments are investigating Digital Currencies, supply chains are adopting Digital Ledgers, games makers and artists are developing NFTs (Non-Fungible Tokens), and new use-cases are emerging regularly. With such growth, many people will find themselves needing to understand how these technologies work. There will be new project teams, with technical leads managing blockchain projects and developers creating distributed applications. This book is great for them as it explains the concepts on which blockchain technologies are based, in simple terms. We will discuss and explain topics such as hashing, Merkle trees, nodes, mining, proof of work and proof of stake, consensus mechanisms encryption, vulnerabilities, and much more. The structures and principles described will be relevant for developers and managers alike, and will be demonstrated through relevant examples throughout the text. If you are looking to understand this exciting new technology, this is the book for you.
ISBN: 9781000549201Publication Date: 2022-03-30
Cryptocurrency Regulation by
This work argues that current cryptocurrency regulation, particularly in the areas of enforcement and compliance, is inadequate. It proposes reflexive regulation as an alternative approach. This book provides strategies for a reflexive regulation approach to cryptocurrencies, developed through the identification of the internal self-regulatory mechanisms of the cryptocurrency system. Apportioning blame for current problems to the regulators' failure to take into account the inherent technical features of cryptocurrencies, the work promotes reflexive regulation in which the law acts at a subsystem-specific level to install, correct, and redefine democratic self-regulatory mechanisms. It provides strategies for this approach, developed through the identification of the internal self-regulatory mechanisms of the cryptocurrency system. These are identified as imbedded in the technical functionality of computer code and consensus-based distributive governance mechanisms respectively. In addition to providing a technical, historical and legal overview of cryptocurrencies, the book concludes by providing recommendations aimed at redirecting code and consensus towards achieving regulatory goals. In this way, it draws from the theory of reflexive law, in order to provide both a substantive and jurisprudential perspective on the regulation of cryptocurrencies and to illustrate how Financial Technology (Fintech) regulation can only be effective once regulators consider both the 'Fin' and the 'tech' in their regulatory approaches. The book will be of interest to researchers, academics and policy-makers working in the areas of Financial Regulation and Jurisprudence, Financial Crime, Banking Regulation, Information Systems, and Information Technology.
ISBN: 9781000594584Publication Date: 2022-06-16
