Subject & Course Guides: FSB PRIME Library Resources Page: Home

Relevant Trade Associations, Websites, and Reports

Library Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Use this for articles on your topic. Hint - Use the "Choose Databases Link ABOVE the search box and add in Education databases such as "ERIC" , "Education Research Complete" and "Professional Development Collection" BEFORE you begin your search.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
Use Hoover's to build lists of colleges and universities. You can sort the list by state or size, or other variables, and then export to Excel.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Use this for industry reports on areas such as Colleges/Universities, Janitorial Services, Industrial Laundry, etc.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel has market research survey data covering consumer segments such as cleaning, marketing to Moms, marketing to millennials, marketing to african americans and hispanics, etc.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Use this to create maps or tables of Higher Education facility locations. Use the SimplyAnalytics Help Videos linked on the upper far right corner of the homepage for help with specific types of reports and maps.
Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM&‌Acirc; Data Packages.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Great source for business statistics - use the limiters on the left side to limit by country or type of data. Download as a PowerPoint, PDF, etc. Also make sure to download the citation information for each statistic you use, that will be linked on the right side of the screen.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.