Skip to Main Content

BLS 342 (Meyers): Home

Lawsuits and Investigative Reports

Lawsuit Updates

Communication with Pilots

Ethiopian Airlines appeared to foresee the deadly confusion its pilots would face if flawed software in the Boeing 737 Max failed. Boeing chose not to provide the guidance that the carrier was seeking.

Follow up story: Email From Boeing to Ethiopian Airlines Sheds Light on a Tragic Crash. Newly revealed correspondence indicates that a Boeing senior official counseled that the company could answer a pilot’s safety question, but it did not.

Plea Deal

Judge Rejects Plea Deal (Dec. 5, 2024)
Boeing Agrees to Plead Guilty in 737 MAX Criminal Case (July 2024)
Boeing accepts a plea deal to avoid a criminal trial over 737 Max crashes, Justice Department says (July 2024)

2018-2019 crashes lawsuit timelines (there are MANY lawsuits against Boeing regarding the 737 MAX, these are the primary ones)

Government Reports & Records

2024 737 MAX Ongoing Safety Issues

NTSB sanctions Boeing for sharing non-public information with the media (6/27/24)
Boeing’s broken safety culture: CEO Dave Calhoun testifies (6/18/2024)
Examining Boeing's broken safety culture: Firsthand accounts (4/17/2024)
Preliminary NTSB Report of plane wall blowout (2/6/2024)
FAA panel report on Boeing safety issues between management and employees (2/26/2024) - News article on the report
FAA Boeing 737 MAX 9 Updates - regarding plane wall blowout (Updated Dec. 5, 2024)

2018-2019 737 MAX Crashes Investigation Records:

Boeing 737 MAX Investigation - Final Report and associated records - House Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure
FAA Boeing 737 MAX Updates (last updated 2021) - original crash incidents
FAA Boeing 737 MAX Reading Room - commonly requested documents through FOIA
Timeline of Government Investigation (from Union College)

Investigative Reports

Foundation for Aviation Safety - Report

Flying Blind by Peter Robison
ISBN: 9780385546492
Publication Date: 2021-11-30

Ongoing Management Issues

Can Boeing Be Fixed? Experts from inside and outside the company share advice for the troubled jet maker
Jan. 6, 2025
Boeing details its safety enhancements a year after a door plug blew off midflight
Jan. 3, 2025
Intel’s Grim Lesson for Boeing: Sometimes Mr. Fix-It Is Too Late
Dec. 31, 2024
Stranded NASA Astronauts Will Be Stuck in Space a Little Longer
Dec. 18, 2024
Boeing CEO to Employees: We Can’t Afford Another Mistake
Nov. 20, 2024
Boeing’s Strike Is Over. Its Problems Are Not.
Nov. 5, 2024
What Went So Wrong With Boeing? With trust gone and cash dwindling, questions swirl about potential endgames for a national icon
Oct. 25, 2024
‘Shortcuts Everywhere’: How Boeing Favored Speed Over Quality
Mar. 28, 2024

Research Databases Best Bets

Scholarly Articles

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Great source for scholarly and magazine and trade journal articles on business, management, and ethics topics.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Good source for law review articles. Also includes the Code of Federal Regulations, congressional documents and US Statutes, among many other sources.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Philosopher's Index is an Ebsco database that includes ethics, social philosophy, and political philosophy, as well as material on the philosophy of law. It can be searched simultaneously with other Ebsco databases such as Business Source Complete.

Policy and Think Tank Reports

Every CRS Report

Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Online access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. 1990- present.

Legal Cases and Regulations

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source to find full-text legal cases, law journal articles, and government statutes and regulations.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

If single sign on fails use this url:
https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=https://www.nexisuni.com
7/10/2024. NEXIS UNI.
http://www.nexisuni.com IN A-Z taken out
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Includes American Jurisprudence, Ohio Jurisprudence, and Corpus Juris Secundum, as well as a large collection of legal and news databases, including federal and state law, statutes and cases, transcripts of news programs and local sources.

Company Information

Statista This link opens in a new window
Use this to find statistics on areas such as Boeing, the airline industry, corporate responsibility, etc.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Ibisworld is a source for in-depth industry reports, including on the airline industry.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
Hoover's is a good source for company data, including SWOT reports, financial data, and SEC filings.

News Articles - NYT, WSJ

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Go to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months from an on campus location, as prompted by the NYT
Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
Cincinnati Business Courier This link opens in a new window
The latest business news from the Cincinnati Business Courier. This has full access to all 44 other local business journals owned by American City Business Journals.

Subscription is provided by Miami's Center for Career Exploration and Success.

Click 'More info' for registration instructions.
- Go to the Cincinnati Business Courier registration page.
- Enter your Miami email address
- Create a password
- Enter your zip code
- Select any newsletters or alerts you'd like to receive
- On the next Group Subscriptions screen - MUST click on Miami University Center for Exploration & Success. If this is skipped your account will be created, but you will not have unlocked access.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: Cincinnati Business Courier

Course Handouts

Citation Help & Database Tutorials

Citation Resources
Guide to various citation styles with examples.
Database videos
Short videos demonstrating how to use the library databases.

Your Librarian

she/her/Ms.

Email Me

Contact:

206 King Library

513-529-2789

Subjects: Anthropology, Business, Business Legal Studies, Education, Marketing

Last Updated: Jan 7, 2025 12:07 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/BLS342
Print Page

Tags: 342, BLS, business legal studies