FYIC/BUS 102: Home

Welcome

The resources on this page will help you find strong and credible research and data for your client project. Search the databases and websites below for information on the industry. Use the handout linked below to help you search effectively. For more help, try the database videos linked on the left side of the screen. You can find citation guidelines there too. Contact Abi Morgan or Zac Grisham for more assistance if needed.

FYIC/BUS 102 Library Resources Handout

Company Website

Rooted Grounds Coffee

Coffee Industry Information

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Explore the larger coffee production industry in the United States of America. Competitors, revenue of industry, key factors driving it, etc..
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics on the coffee market in America including key brands, size of the market and more.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
Hoover's can be used to find industry information. In this case, the coffee industry. Simply click on the industry research section, type in coffee and access the Freedonia focus report.

Company/Competitor Research

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Pitchbook is an ideal database for finding information on private companies. There are a couple of ways to access Pitchbook:
If you click on the link above, after you go through the first login screen, click the link to go to the Pitchbook website. Then make sure you hit the small link under the large boxes that says "Log in with SSO."
OR follow these directions.

In addition to transactional data, PitchBook also provides detailed information on institutional investment firms (for both venture capital and private equity), including the partners/directors at each firm, the limited partners, individual fund amount and performance, investment portfolio (by fund), and more.
Marketline This link opens in a new window
Marketline is a great resource for studying larger or public companies.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
Hoover's is a great resource for making company lists based on area or industry and for studying larger or public companies.

Coffee Consumer Databases

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a useful consumer research resource if you use the consumer insights section. Simply use the tool bar to navigate to the Consumer Insights section then type in coffee. In the drop down you will see insights into consumers preferences. (feelings on coffee, preferences, etc.)
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
NOTE: You will need to create an account to download data. See this tip sheet about how to register:

Has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Also reports on specific demographics (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.), and specific themes (convenience, ethical, social media, mobile, etc.). Includes some global coverage.
MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
MRI Simmons Catalyst is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. For help using Simmons Insights, see this tip sheet. Use is limited to 10 simultaneous users.