History: Reference

Reference Materials

Reference resources are those types of resources that are generally either factual or summative in nature. Encyclopedia articles present a summary of the issues and facts surrounding an issue, person or event. Statistical sources provide data, but generally do not interpret that data. Below are listed basic background information sources such as encylopedias and broad histories.

Encyclopedias Provide a broad overview of a topic, identifying the key words, essential facts, principle participants and a basic bibliography. Specialized encyclopedias use language that is appropriate for scholars of all levels in the field. Some specialized encyclopedias are arranged like a dictionary, while others read like a journal article.
Multi-Volume Histories provide a broad, contextual overview and narrative for historical thought. Good for connecting ideas.
Biographical Dictionaries provide biographical information about signficant individuals
Statistics
Maps
Dictionaries

Chronologies help to fix

Book Reviews

Digital Reference Collections

OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, Reference E-Books (M.U. only)
This collection includes many specialized encyclopedias, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, most published by ABC-CLIO, but an increasing number by others, such as Gale, Sage, Macmillan, and Scribner.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (M.U. only)
Collection of over 100 reference e-books on many subjects which can be accessed individually or searched together as a single source.
more...less...
It includes such titles as Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film, Encyclopedia of American Industries, The College Blue Book, American Decades, Dictionary of American History, Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, Encyclopedia of Russian History, New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, National Survey of State Laws, West's Encyclopedia of American Law, New Encyclopedia of Africa, Encyclopaedia Judaica, Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Encyclopedia of Religion, International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences.
ABC Clio
We receive all reference books published by ABC CLIO, a major history publisher. They are contained in the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center listed above.

Last Updated: Nov 6, 2024 3:43 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/history
Print Page

Subjects: History