History: Encyclopedias/Background
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
This is a highly selected list of print and online encyclopedias for historical research. Check other related guides as well as the individual history subject guides for specialized historical subjects.
- Dictionary of American HistoryThis basic 10-volume encyclopedia broadly covers not only the facts and events of American history, but also the social, cultural, and economic developments which caused those events.
- Encyclopedia of American Social HistoryKing Reference HN57 .E58 1993
- Encyclopedia of Africa South of the SaharaKing Reference DT351 .E53 1997
- Brill's New Pauly : encyclopaedia of the ancient worldKing Reference DE5 .N4813 2002
- Encyclopedia of Russian historyKing Reference DK14 .E53 2004
- Africana : the encyclopedia of the African and African American experienceKing Reference DT14 .A37435 2005
Multivolume General Histories
Mulitvolume general histories contextualize the established historical research for a particular time period or country. They are generally more in-depth and more research oriented than an encyclopedia and will cite major theories and sources on the topic.
- New Cambridge Medieval History D117 .N48 1995
- New Cambridge Modern History D208 .N4
- Cambridge Ancient History D57 .C252
- Cambridge History of......and New Cambridge History of.... Cambridge University Press publishes a large number of sets under the two listed titles. Search the library catalog for title: Cambridge History of...etc.
- Longman Companion To . . . (Use this as the beginning of a title search in the catalog)
- History of Humanity King Folio CB69 .H585 1994
- General History of Africa DT20 .G45
- Writing History .....(Use this as the beginning of a title search in the catalog)
- Palgrave Advances . . . (Use this as the beginning of a title search in the catalog)
Digital Reference Collections
- OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, Reference E-Books (M.U. only)This collection includes many specialized encyclopedias, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, most published by ABC-CLIO, but an increasing number by others, such as Gale, Sage, Macmillan, and Scribner.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (M.U. only)Collection of over 100 reference e-books on many subjects which can be accessed individually or searched together as a single source.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowCollection of reference e-books on many subjects which can be accessed individually or searched together .It includes such titles as: American Decades, Dictionary of American History, Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, Encyclopedia of Russian History, New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, Encyclopedia of Africa, Encyclopaedia Judaica.
