History: Native American Resources
Secondary Journal Articles
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History and Life (AHL) abstracts journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of American and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Sources in AHL are almost all in English and include state and local history journals as well as major history journals. Search the index by keyword and limit the search by desired time-period covered in the article.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts (HA) indexes journal articles, dissertations, book reviews, and media reviews on world history (excluding the United States and Canada-see America: History and Life). HA covers history from 1450 C.E. to the present. This index also includes major European-language journals. Search HA by keyword and limit the search by the time period covered by the article.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowBibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present
Databases of Primary Sources: Native American Focused
- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment This link opens in a new windowDatabase includes letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of encounters between native cultures and colonizers in North and South America (although Canada and the United States dominate). Aside from a keyword search, indexes include characteristics of authors, place, peoples, cultural and personal events, year, environment and images.
- North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowThe collection is comprised of material that covers the entire history of North America; from 17th century accounts of the first encounters involving Indians and European colonists to the stories of aboriginals living in a 21st century world.
- Jesuit relations and allied documentsConnects to Alexander Street Press Database.
Websites
- Bureau of Catholic Indian Missions (Marquette)Clergy and women religious, who taught and evangelized among Native Americans, routinely submitted photographs to the editors of The Indian Sentinel, 1902-1962, a fundraising magazine published by the Bureau of Catholic Indian Missions. These photographs comprise the bulk of the pre-1970 images in the collection.
- Commissioner of Native American AffairsUniversity of Wisconsin Digital Collections. Precursor of the Bureau of Indian Affairs
- American Memory: Collections on IndiansPhotographs and travel accounts.
- The Indian Sentinel, 1902-1962The Indian Sentinel featured articles about Native Americans across the United States and their evangelization by the Catholic Church. Most were first-hand accounts by lifelong missionaries in the field that were often illustrated with photographs they had taken. Also featured are articles, essays, and letters by Native Americans, many of whom were students in Catholic schools.
- Index of Native American Resources:HistorySee especially the links to photographic collections.
- Internet Archive: Native AmericansAn index to online collections both on the Internet and digitized by Internet Archive. This is a search for Indians of North America. You will want to add something to the search to narrow it down.
Databases of Primary Sources: Include Native American Resources
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProQuest Congressional offers information and primary-source documents by and about the United States Congress. It indexes Congressional publications from 1789 to the present, including the U.S. Serial Set.
- Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints, 1796-1850 This link opens in a new windowDescribes books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in Ohio and includes names of libraries that own copies of these historical materials to aid in locating originals. Through a partnership with the American Antiquarian Society, Worcester, Massachusetts, many titles formerly owned by the Morgan Library are now in the AAS collections (http://catalog.mwa.org/). The Morgan Library of Ohio Imprints (http://www.morganohiolibrary.com) is also compiling an Ohio Name and Institution Index
Periodical Databases
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowBibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press
- Early American Newspapers: Series 1-7 This link opens in a new windowFull-text page and article images of selected American newspapers from roughly 1690-1922.
- Early American Imprints: The Digital Evans This link opens in a new windowFull-text of most printed matter (books, pamphlets, and broadsides, etc.) issued the United States and Canada from 1640-1800. If the full-text is not included, it is not extant anywhere.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new windowFull-text of American magazines published from 1741 into the 20th century. Database can be browsed by title, editor, or publisher, and searched using a sophisticated search menu.
Major Sets of Primary Sources
- D'Arcy McNickle diariesNative American Anthropologist. Diaries cover 1931-1970.
- Early American Indian documents : treaties and laws, 1607-1789King Library (2nd floor) | KF8202 1979
- Jesuit relations and allied documents; travels and explorations of the Jesuit missionaries in New France, 1610-1791; the original French, Latin, and Italian texts, with English translations and notesKing Library (2nd floor) | F1030.7 .Z75 1896
- American Indian periodicals in the Princeton University LibraryHughes Storage, Microform - Microfilm | E75 .A6452
- American State PapersThe American State Papers, comprising a total of thirty-eight physical volumes, contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838.
