Contains biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to people who died during or before the year 2005.
Contains 55,000 biographies of noteworthy people from all walks of life in the British past, including artists, scientists, writers, industrialists, performers, explorers, criminals, and eccentrics as well as politicians, church leaders, and soldiers, mariners, doctors, and lawyers. To search click on "Subscribers enter here" in the upper right corner.
Biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
A full-text database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines biographies from multiple Gale reference publications, such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Dictionary of American Biography, and Directory of American Scholars, with articles from more than 300 magazines, such as American History, The Christian Century, and U.S. News & World Report.
King Ref E176 .N28
Late 19th through mid 20th century source for biographies of important, lesser know individuals that influenced American life, culture, business, etc. Sometimes includes photographs or sketches.
Important and famous Americans who are no longer living.
Online version of the 24 volume reference work, which updates the Dictionary of American Biography. It "offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation." All subjects are deceased. Biographies which overlap with the DAB have been completely rewritten.