History: Maps

Historical Online Collections

Map Collections

Map Libraries and other large collections of online images. For further information see: Maps and Geographic Information Systems (GIS). For maps or atlas' on certain areas, see the history by region or history by subject tabs.

David Rumsey Map Collection
Over 10,000 images. Rare 18th- and 19th-century maps of North and South America. The world, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented. Note: browser must be able to allow pop-up windows.
Map Collections: 1500 to Present
Digital images of maps of the Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress. Featured are Americana and cartographic treasures of the Library. Also available are copyright free contemporary maps of countries and regions of the world.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
JPEG, GIF, and PDF map images, at the University of Texas at Austin Library. Many of the maps were originally produced by federal government agencies.
Inici : La Cartoteca Digital
From Institut Cartografic de Catalunya (ICC), in Barcelona. Catalonian sailors pioneered the navigation chart over 500 years ago. Satellite imagery, maps of the Spanish Civil War, old maps of the Americas and other regions, and more.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps: Ohio
Large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
Library of Congress Map Collections: 1500-2003
The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. This represents only a small fraction of the holdings of the Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress.

Useful Printed Atalas'

Hammond Atlas of the 20th century
King Reference G1021 .H2662 1999
Atlas of World War I (Martin Gilbert)
King Reference G1037 .G5 1994
Part of a whole series of maps by Martin Gilbert. Look for others in the catalog with him as an author.
Atlas of American History
King Reference G1201.S1 A8 1984
Atlas of World History
King Reference G1030 .A875 2000

Historical Uses of Maps

Historically, maps have many uses, sometimes not for finding directions. Certainly maps were used for navigation purposes, often for the transport of commercial goods. Maps could be political tools, to claim and define territories for a country or a landlord/ruler. Maps, through their language and content, can also be used as tools of propoganda. Be sure to read the legend to understand what the purpose and the contents of the map are.

Questions to Ask When Reading A Map

What is at the center of the map? What is the focus?
What is in the margins?
What is the purpose of the map?
What is missing in the map?
What is the perspective of the cartographer?
Was the map part of a larger collection, such as an atlas?
How was the map made -- by a professional, hand drawn? In this case is the scale significant?

Last Updated: Nov 6, 2024 3:43 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/history
Print Page

Subjects: History