History: History of Disease

SECONDARY SOURCES AND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Bibliographies and Secondary Articles

See also the Subject Guide to Public Health. Many of the sources there are contemporary/modern, but may have some historical content, especially for secondary sources.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Secondary research articles on United States and Canadian History
Sources in AHL are almost all in English and include state and local history journals as well as major history journals. Search the index by keyword and limit the search by desired time-period covered in the article. For additional help in searching use the link in AHL.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to secondary research articles on world history.

Bibliography of the History of Medicine
Bibliography of the History of Medicine Z6660.B582. Bibliography books and articles published on the history of medicine from 1964-1983.
Bibliography of the History of Medicine of the United States and Canada, 1839-1960

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries. The database contains citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's subject heading system, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).

Archaic Names and Definitions of Diseases

Using the Catalog

You should be able to find at least one book on the history of your disease. Use the Classic Catalog, the link UNDER the big search box on the Library's main website. You can search for general histories of infectious diseases as well as your specific disease. Try the following

Click on the subject button and put in the words communicable diseases -- history
Click on the subject button and put in the words communicable diseases (not history this time) and then limit (look to the top of the screen) by clicking on modify search and in the box labeled subject put in the word history
Click on the subject button and put in the words [your disease] -- history. For example measles--history
For general medical descriptions, Medicine--Handbooks, manuals, etc and Medicine--dictionaries. You can limit by date for older materials.

Encyclopedias

Infectious diseases: in context
Good source for the history of diseases.
Dictionary of the History of Medicine
Terminology and practices.
Hstory of the statistical classification of diseases and causes of death
Refers to the various classifications of illness and diseases by the federal government.
Medical Encyclopedia Medline Plus
Description of diseases, symptoms, and current treatment.
Encyclopedia of Infectious Diseases
Infectious diseases, symptoms, treatment, and prognosis.
PDR (Physicians Desk Reference)

DSM-5-TR(Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) This link opens in a new window
Used for diagnosing mental disorders. This is the link to the current database. DSM-1 was published in 1952.
Intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. Provides access to DSM-5, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnoses, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and the Spanish edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5.

PRIMARY SOURCES

Magazines and Newspapers

Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Index only to popular magazines (primarily United States) in the 20th century. 1890-1982.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the complete run of New York Times including with page images, individual articles, ads, and illustrations in downloadable PDF. It includes, and is searchable by, display and classified ads, cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials, obituaries, and commentary, as well as articles. 1851-3 years ago.
Chicago Tribune Historical This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images of the Chicago Tribune, 1849-1994.
It includes display and classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism as well as articles.
Washington Post Historical This link opens in a new window
Full-text image and indexing of the Washington Post from its beginning in 1877 through 17 years ago. Includes full-page and article images of all articles and display and classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism as well as articles.
Cincinnati Enquirer Historical (1841-2009) This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images for the Cincinnati Enquirer from 1841-2009.
Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006 This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images of the Sunday edition of the Times, London newspaper. The Sunday Times has always been published by a separate publisher from the daily edition. Major newspaper not only for Britain, but also for articles on the British colonies and much of Europe. 1822 - 2006
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2010 This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images of the daily edition of the Times, London newspaper. The daily edition of the Times has always been published by a separate publisher from the Sunday edition. Major newspaper not only for Britain, but also for articles on the British colonies and much of Europe. 1822 - 2006
The index to the paper after 1985 is available in the King Index area at the end of the reference section. Older indexes are available in King Circulation. Microfilm of the newspaper is available by request from the Instructional Materials Center.

Academic Journals

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Indexes articles in scholarly humanities and social science journals published between 1907-1984.
Combines the indexing of International Index (1907-1965), the Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-74), Humanities Index (1974-84), and Social Sciences Index (1974-84).
African American Newspapers 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of local African American newspapers across the United States chronicling life, thought and culture. Miami has Series 1 (1827-1998) and 2 (1835-1956) from selected states.
African American Newspapers was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the world. Titles in Series 1 come from the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, while titles in Series 2 come from the American Antiquarian Society, Center for Research Libraries, the Library of Congress, and New York Public Library.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals by and about African Americans. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizational bulletins, annual reports, and other genres. Cross-searchable with African American Newspapers (Readex).
New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window
Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection.
Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the Chicago Defender from 1910-1975.
Cleveland Call and Post This link opens in a new window
Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the Cleveland Call and Post from 1934-1991.

Government Documents

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
U.S. Congress documents including hearings, legislation, and regulations. Provides bill tracking and legislative histories. ProQuest Congressional offers information and primary-source documents by and about the United States Congress. Indexes some social media from various government bodies. 1789-present.
Full-text is available for many publications including testimony from congressional hearings (1824-Present); committee reports (1817-Present); bill texts and status (1989-); Statutes at Large/U.S. Code (1789-); Congressional Serial Set (1789-2003); Federal Register (1980-); and the Congressional Record, including the Annals of Congress (1789-1997). It also provides information about members and committees.
GPO Monthly Catalog This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index to all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Covers late the 19th century to the 21st century.
Publications cover a wide range of subjects in the social sciences and sciences. This index also includes citations to government resources on the Internet. Many of the publications in this index are shelved by SuDoc number in the Government Information & Law Department, in the basement of King Library.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

19th and 20th Century Parliamentary Papers (1801-2004) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers and other materials related to Great Britain's governance.

Primary Sources

Miami Only Databases

Public Health in America Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more. Includes topics such as hygiene, mental illness, diseases, child care, insurance, and family issues. 1890-1970.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Collected from governmental and non-governmental resources. Contains statistics on social, behavioral, economics, government, finance, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, migration, trade and more. Allows for customization of data into tables.

See also the Primary Sources Subject Guide for a fuller listing of sources

Digital Collections

Victorian Trade Card Collection
Trade Cards were typically used to advertise products and services including such items as patent medicines, thread, sewing machines, food and beverages, farm equipment and others. Trade cards reached the height of their popularity during the 1880's and 1890's. Heavily United States oriented.
National Library of Medicine: History Division
See especially the images section.
Ad* Access
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
Medicine and Madison Avenue
This website explores the complex relationships between modern medicine and modern advertising, or "Madison Avenue," as the latter is colloquially termed. The Medicine and Madison Avenue Project presents images and database information for approximately 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines. These ads illustrate the variety and evolution of marketing images from the 1910s through the 1950s.
Medical History Library at Yale
Links to collections.
Archive.org
Collection of archived material on the internet. Especially good for movies.
North American Women's Diaries
Drawn from more than 600 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, much of the material is in copyright. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions.
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online
The resource is a unique forum that brings together the voices of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures. In their own words, people from diverse ethnic and social groups bring vividly to life hundreds of years of history through their perspectives on life, love, faith, politics, business, and countless personal events.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature
This database includes documents from the President's Commission on the Status of Women, Institute for Women's Policy Research, papers of women active in the women's movements as well as selected speeches diaries and other publications.
Women and Social Movements
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000 this collection includes full text documents from the American Anti-Slavery Society, among others.
NYU Literature, Arts, & Medicine Database
An annotated multimedia listing of prose, poetry, film, video and art
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics
Historical perspectives on the science and public policy of epidemiology today
National Library of Medicine Di
Visual Culture and Health
Posters
Internet Archive
Videos texts, etc.
Library of Congress American Memory Digital Collections
Use the search box in the upper right and search by disease, etc.
Library of Congress WPA Posters
Public health campaigns
Library of Congress Covid-19 Pandemic Collections
Article with links to various collections, many still in progress.

Last Updated: Feb 26, 2024 3:18 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/history
Print Page

Subjects: History