History: Early American Conspiracy Theories
For a fuller list of available primary sources see the guide: Primary Sources.
Newspapers and Magazines
- Early American Newspapers: Series 1-7 This link opens in a new windowFull-text page and article images of selected American newspapers from roughly 1690-1922.
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new windowNOTE: Register with your Miami University email address.
Full-text of 18th and 19th century publications including selected African American newspapers (eg. North Star), Civil War era magazines and newspapers, Godey's Ladies' Book, major early American newspapers (eg. Pennsylvania Gazette), and major Civil war articles from the north and south.< - Times Digital Archive, 1785-2010 This link opens in a new windowFull-text page and article images of the daily edition of the Times, London newspaper. The daily edition of the Times has always been published by a separate publisher from the Sunday edition. Major newspaper not only for Britain, but also for articles on the British colonies and much of Europe. 1822 - 2006
- 19th Century Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes (no full-text) 19th-century British and American books, periodicals, magazines, newspapers and other official documents.
- AAS Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new windowDigital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals chronicling American society, culture and politics, published between 1691-1820 (Series 1 and 2).
Books
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowEarly English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 125,000 books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other printed matter printed in England or its Colonies or in English anywhere during the years 1475-1700.
- HathiTrustUnion catalog of major US research libraries. Many entries are full text.
- Early American Imprints: The Digital Evans This link opens in a new windowFull-text of most printed matter (books, pamphlets, and broadsides, etc.) issued the United States and Canada from 1640-1800. If the full-text is not included, it is not extant anywhere.
Primary Source Collections
- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment This link opens in a new windowLetters, diaries, memoirs, and other kinds of personal accounts of encounters between native cultures and colonizers in North and South America (although Canada and the United States dominate).
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowfull-text of diaries and letters of British and Irish women in the UK and abroad. Most have been published, but also some are in manuscript form. Coverage 15th century - sometime in the 20th century. See advanced index. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new windowPersonal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories (some audio content). Much of the material is previously unpublished. Content includes perspectives both on North America and on the immigrants. 1800-1950.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowUnpublished and published sources of women's diaries and correspondence. They provide a detailed record of what women wore, the conditions under which they worked, what they ate, what they read, and how they amused themselves. Colonial - present.
- Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online This link opens in a new windowBrings together the following collections into one searchable database: North American Women's Letters and Diaries; British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries; The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries; North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories; Black Thought and Culture. Each of these databases has a separate description in this Databases A-Z list.
Government Records
- Colonial and State Records -- Before becoming states, each colony had a legislative body that created laws, etc. To find these records, search the catalog BY SUBJECT with the name of the state/colony -- colonial period -- sources. For example: Georgia -- History -- Colonial Period Ca 1600 1775 -- Sources. Many of these sources have been digitized
For Federal Documents since 1789
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowU.S. Congress documents including hearings, legislation, and regulations. Provides bill tracking and legislative histories. ProQuest Congressional offers information and primary-source documents by and about the United States Congress. Indexes some social media from various government bodies. 1789-present.