History: Cincinnati History
Local Archives
- Cincinnati Historical SocietySee the online catalog and Index to Local History Sources.
- Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton CountyBegin with the genealogy and history department. You may also find information in the Government and Business Department and Rare Books and Manuscripts.
Journals
- Searchable List of Cincinnati History JournalsSearch all the secondary source journals on Cincinnati history. Full text .pdf included. Miami also subscribes to all of these titles. From Cincinnati History Library.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowOxford campus users only. Index only to popular magazines (primarily United States) in the 20th century. 1890-1982.
Newspapers
- Cincinnati CommercialLinks to our holdings.
- List of Ohio NewspapersFree and online.
- Cincinnati Newspaper Index (NEWSDEX) This link opens in a new windowCreated and maintained by the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County staff, this database indexes selected articles on local topics from area newspapers, currently including the Cincinnati Enquirer, the Cincinnati Post, the Cincinnati Herald, the Business Courier, Cincinnati Magazine, and the Downtowner. Some topics can be traced back into the 19th century, although the years since 1990 are covered more fully. There is no full-text in the database.
- Cincinnati Enquirer Historical (1841-2009) This link opens in a new windowFull-text page and article images for the Cincinnati Enquirer from 1841-2009.
Primary Source Collections
- Cincinnati and the Tristate: ImagesLinks from the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County to area collections of images.
- CINCINNATI AND THE TRISTATE · HISTORY & PRESERVATIONLinks to resources from the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County
- Greater Cincinnati Memory ProjectCollection of images
- Fire Insurance MapsDigitized by the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County.
- Historical Cincinnati MapsUniversity of Cincinnati Archives.
- Cincinnati Transit HistoryNot exactly a collection of primary sources, but lots of links to transportation history in Cincinnati.
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (OPLIN Interface) This link opens in a new windowAnother source. large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
Types of primary Sources
- City Plans
- City and County Histories
- City Laws
- Corporate Recordsfor example Proctor and Gamble have an archives.
Misc.
- Cincinnati Regional Transit History TimelineThe goal of the Cincinnati Regional Transportation History Committee (CRTHC) is to compile a comprehensive history of transportation in the region since 1788. Its purpose is to trace the important role of transportation in the settlement and development of Cincinnati and surrounding Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana areas
- Cincinnati Preservation SocietySee their list of links. A not-for-profit organization that serves the Greater Cincinnati community as the recognized resource and catalyst for the preservation of historic cultural resources such as architecturally significant buildings, archaeological sites, historic public art and monuments and landscapes.
