History: Truman
Subject Guide
Reference
- Harry S. Truman Encyclopedia. Richard S. Kirkendall. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1989.King Reference | E814 .H336 1989
- Historical Dictionary of the Roosevelt-Truman Era. Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press, 2008.King Reference | E806 .W96 2008
- American DecadesDecade by decade look at American Culture. Click on the link in the catalog record.
Periodical Indexes
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowAbstracts journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of American and Canadian history. Sources in AHL are almost all in English and include state and local history journals as well as major history journals.
- International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window(1951 - ) This database contains over 262,700 records from over 1,000 journals. Approximately 8,000 new records are added to the database each year.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowWorld history (excluding the United States and Canada-see America: History and Life), from 1450 C.E. to the present. This index also includes major European-language journals.
Primary Sources Periodicals
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowIndex to popular magazines from 1890-1980's. After the 1980's use the print version in the reference index collection and Academic Search Complete.
- New York Times Historical This link opens in a new windowFull text of the complete run of New York Times from 1851 to three years ago, with page images, individual articles, ads, and illustrationss in downloadable PDF. It includes, and is searchable by, display and classified ads, cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials, obituaries, and commentary, as well as articles. Dates of coverage: 1851-three years from the present. Updated: Varies
- Washington Post Historical This link opens in a new windowFull-text image and indexing of the Washington Post from its beginning in 1877 until 1990. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. It includes display and classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism as well as articles.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2010 This link opens in a new windowComplete digital edition of The Times (London) including all articles, advertisements and illustrations, and photos.
Government Documents
- CIS US Congressional Committee Hearings IndexKing-Govt & Law Reference | Z1223.Z7 C56
- Cumulative subject index to the monthly catalog of United States government publications : 1900-1971King-Govt & Law Reference | Z1223 .A182x
Index to gov't publications other than congress. - CIS US congressional committee prints index : from the earliest publications through 1969King-Govt & Law Reference | Z1223.Z7 C66
- Foreign Relations of the United StatesKing Gov and Law S1.1:
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window1882 - ) More than 63,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. See the Collections Guide at DNSA for a list of specific events covered.
- Declassified Documents Reference System This link opens in a new window(1940 - ) Full-text of more than 78,000 declassified documents from various government agencies including the White House, CIA, FBI, and State Dept. Publications cover major foreign and domestic issues such as the Cold War, Vietnam, and civil rights.
Primary Sources
- Truman LibrarySome online content.
- Cumulated indexes to the public papers of the Presidents of the United StatesKing Reference | J80 .A283 index 1929/33 -
Index to the official papers by presidential administration. - Public Papers of the PresidentsIn print King Library (2nd floor) | J80 .A283 1929 --
Collections of official publications. - American Presidency ProjectSelected papers of presidents.
- Vital Speeches of the DayText of speeches on wide range of political topics. 10/08/1934 to present.
- Internet Archive: Wayback MachineUse the tab across the top to search in the collections you want. Contains archival images, photographs, etc. of different aspects of culture.
- Cold War International History ProjectThe Cold War International History Project disseminates new information and perspectives on the history of the Cold War, in particular new findings from previously inaccessible sources on "the other side" -- the former Communist world.
- American History in Video This link opens in a new windowAmerican History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
