History: HST 400: International Criminal Court
Using the Congressional Record
Finding the Congressional Record
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowU.S. Congress documents including hearings, legislation, and regulations. Provides bill tracking and legislative histories. ProQuest Congressional offers information and primary-source documents by and about the United States Congress. Indexes some social media from various government bodies. 1789-present.
- Congressional RecordThe Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. The Congressional Record began publication in 1873, and is still published today.
- Congressional RecordFrom Congress' website
Background and Secondary Information
- Congressional Research Service Reports (ProQuest)CRS reports since 1945
- CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new windowReports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowProvides political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories. Information includes regional and country profiles, information on physical and social geography, history, economy, and country and comparative statistics. It also provides directory information for governmental, society, media, and business enterprises.
- Border and Migration Studies This link opens in a new windowA collection that explores and provides historical background on select border areas in Asia, Africa, the Americas, and Europe in text, video, and images.
- United Nations iLibrary This link opens in a new windowProvides a single online destination for seamlessly accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat and its funds and programs.
- United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new windowFull-text of treaties and international agreements registered or filed with the UN since 1946. The database also includes other treaty-related data including Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General (status of more than 500 major treaties).
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowOnline access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. 1990- present.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSource for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
- New York Times Historical This link opens in a new windowFull-text of the complete run of New York Times including with page images, individual articles, ads, and illustrations in downloadable PDF. It includes, and is searchable by, display and classified ads, cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials, obituaries, and commentary, as well as articles. 1851-3 years ago.
- International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProduced by the International Political Science Association, includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science from 1951 to the present.
- Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new windowA database that covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents. Limited full-text.
- Washington Post Historical This link opens in a new windowFull-text image and indexing of the Washington Post from its beginning in 1877 through 17 years ago. Includes full-page and article images of all articles and display and classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism as well as articles.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2010 This link opens in a new windowFull-text page and article images of the daily edition of the Times, London newspaper. The daily edition of the Times has always been published by a separate publisher from the Sunday edition. Major newspaper not only for Britain, but also for articles on the British colonies and much of Europe. 1822 - 2006
- Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006 This link opens in a new windowFull-text page and article images of the Sunday edition of the Times, London newspaper. The Sunday Times has always been published by a separate publisher from the daily edition. Major newspaper not only for Britain, but also for articles on the British colonies and much of Europe. 1822 - 2006
- Washington PostCurrent -- in a database called Factiva.
Citation Styles
- The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation. 17th ed. Gov't & Law Ref KF 245.B58 2005The standard guide for citing legal materials. Popular sections include Cases (rule 10, p. 55- ), Statutes (Rule 12, p. 76- ) and Administrative and Executive Materials (Rule 14, p. 96- ). Also contains tables of sources by jurisdiction and lists of abbreviations.