Art and Architecture History: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Online Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowComprehensive online encyclopedia of visual arts, with over 45,000 articles and biographies (with bibliographies), and over 130,000 images. Look up artists, art movements, time periods, art works, geography, materials, and more
- Society of Architecture Historians' (SAH) ArchipediaSAH Archipedia is an authoritative online encyclopedia of the U.S. built environment organized by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press. It contains histories, photographs, and maps for over 22,000 structures and places. These are mostly buildings, but as you explore SAH Archipedia you will also find landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, artwork, and more. Content is focused on the US at this time, with plans to expand to global content in the future.
Reference Books in Print
All of the books listed below are in the Reference area of the Art/Architecture library in Alumni Hall
General Resources
- Atlas of World Art. N5300 .A85 2004
- Oxford Dictionary of Art. N33 .O93 2004
American/Regional
- Artists in Ohio, 1787-1900. N6530.O3 H38 2000
- Jacobsen's Biographical index of American artists. N6536 .J33 2002
- Who's Who in American Art. N6536 .W5
Contemporary
- Contemporary Architects. NA680 .C625 1994
- Contemporary Artists. N6490 .C6567 2002
- Contemporary Masterworks. N6490 .C65675 1991
- Contemporary Photographers. TR139 .C664 1995
- Contemporary Women Artists. N8354 .C66 1999
- Encyclopedia of 20th-century architecture. NA680 .E495 2004
- Encyclopedia of twentieth-century photography. TR642 .E5 2005
African American
- African Americans in the visual arts. N6538.N5 O86 2003
- Encyclopedia of African American Artists. N6538.N5 J44 2009
- African-American architects. NA736 .A47 2004
Latin American
- Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art.
- Latin American and Caribbean artists of the modern era. N6502.4 .S45 2003
- St. James guide to Hispanic artists : profiles of Latino and Latin American artists. N6538.H58 S7 2002
Women
- North American women artists of the twentieth century: a biographical dictionary. N6503 .N67 1995
- Dictionary of Women Artists. N8354 .D53 1997
Specialized Indexes
Dictionary of Artists - Benezit.
Call # N40 .B47 2006
Extensive, 14-volume publication with over 170,000 entries about painters, sculptors, designers, and engravers. Contains biographical data, a general presentation of an artist's work, as well as a selection of bibliographical references, museum listings, graphics (including artist signatures, monograms and stamps of sale) and auction records.
Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC).
Call # N7760 .L49 1981
Premier reference source for images and iconography in Classical art, with text and plates for every image of every known figure, subject, or scene from Greek, Roman, or Etruscan mythology.