Art and Architecture History: ART 285
Handouts
Art-Specific Databases
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowArt Full Text indexes articles from over 370 art periodicals from around the world. Sources include periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins in English and other languages. Coverage is broad and includes art history, architecture, advertising, archaeology, crafts, fine arts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, jewelry, film, and photography. This database also cites art reproductions used to illustrate articles or advertisements. Full text is available for selected journals starting from 1997. Abstracts available for articles published after 1994. Citations indexed from 1929-present. Art Full Text continues Art Abstracts and Art Index.
- Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowArt Index Retrospective allows you to search more than 55 years of art journalism from more than 600 publications. Feature articles, interviews, film reviews, book reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, editorials, reproduction of works of art, notices of competitions and awards and letters to the editor are indexed. Subjects covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, crafts, and much more.
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowARTbibliographies Modern provides full abstracts of international journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. More than 13,000 new entries are added each year. Subject coverage is broad and includes traditional media (e.g. drawing, painting, printmaking, sculpture), as well as decorative and applied arts (e.g. ceramics, fashion, graphic design, jewelry, textiles) and newer art forms (e.g. body art, computer and electronic art, installations, performance art, video art). While the focus is on late-19th and 20th Century art, coverage also extends back to include information about the influence of earlier artists. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839.
- Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new windowThe Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) indexes and abstracts scholarly writing on the history of European and American art from late antiquity (4th century AD) to the present. Sources include art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and over 4,300 periodicals. Subject coverage includes fine arts, decorative and applied arts, industrial design and architecture, and popular and folk art. Photography and contemporary new media as well as performing arts (scenography and costume) are also covered. BHA is particularly strong in European art from the medieval through modern periods, and in the indexing of foreign language materials.
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text coverage of hundreds of periodicals and books, as well as cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for nearly a thousand academic journals, magazines and trade publications and books. The database also provides selective coverage for additional publications and an immense Image Collection provided by Picture Desk and others. Full-text coverage dates back to 1937.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text backfiles of select scholarly periodicals in the Arts, Business, Humanities, Sciences and Social Sciences. Very major resource for art & architectural historians.
Non-Western Culture Databases
- Africa-wide Information This link opens in a new windowLimited to 1 simultaneous user. A comprehensive index of information by Africans and about Africa. Topics include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism, and much more. Limited full-text.
Where is the article?
Click on the "Find it!" icon to find more information about where to get the actual article once you find it in an index or database.
If the article is available online, you will see a link to it.
If the article is available in print, you will see a library location (e.g. King Library) and a call number. Go to that library's periodicals section and look up the call number. Make sure you write down the volume, issue, and year of your article before you go.
If no copies are available, click on the link that says "InterLibrary Loan Options." Click on "Journal Article" and fill out the info. We will try to find the article for you and mail or email it to you.
Subject Librarian
Info about journals
"Is that journal peer-reviewed or scholarly?" Find out more information about many journals in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.
Tips:
- Search by journal TITLE or ISSN whenever possible
- Referee shirt icon means it's peer-reviewed
- Click on the journal title to see what kind of journal it is (under "Document type")
Citing your Sources
- Citation Resources: Chicago/TurabianGuide to some examples and resources for citing works in Chicago or Turabian styles
- Citation ManagersGuide to various online citation managers available that integrate with library databases
Captioning Images
This research guide will show you how to caption images.