Skip to main content

Art and Architecture History: ART 276

Dashboard for Omeka

Art-Specific Databases

African Art Journals

African Arts

NKA: Journal of Contemporary African Art

Critical Interventions: Journal of African Art History and Visual Culture

Academic and Scholarly Journal Articles

Useful Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Africa

  • Focus on African history and cultures with articles that cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa

New Encyclopedia of Africa  (also in print at King Reference: DT2 .N48 2008)

  • Comprehensive, 5 volumes, with bibliographic references and index (nice!)

A Dictionary of African Mythology (also in print at King Reference: BL2400 .S24 2000)

  • Over 400 entries from the entire continent of gods, goddesses, tricksters, heroes, origin stories, etc.

Oxford Art Online   

  • Comprehensive encyclopedia of many different aspects of art and artists from around the world.  Includes bibliographic information.
  • Only 3 simultaneous users

African Ceremonies (King Reference: GN645 .B4 1999)

  • 2 volumes of excellent images of African ceremonies, rites, celebrations, rituals, and customs.

Peoples and Cultures of Africa (King Reference: DT14 .P46 2006)

  • 6 volume set, organized geographically.  Emphasis on cultural practices.

Call numbers for African Art

If you're browsing in the Art/Arch library for books on African Art, try looking in the

N7380

area.  Look in Folios and Non-Folios.  If you see a book that looks relevant, check out the book's bibliography.  You can copy down titles from that bibliography and search for those titles in the catalog.

Image Resources

Citing Images

Image downloaded from ARTstor:

Rogier van der Weyden, Saint Catherine of Alexandria. 1430-1432, Diptych panel, 18.5 x 12 cm. Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna, Austria. Available from: ARTstor, http://www.artstor.org (accessed September 30. 2009).

Image downloaded from museum website:

Caravaggio, The Denial of Saint Peter. Early 15th century. Oil on canvas, 94 x 125.4 cm. The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. From: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, http://www.metmuseum.org (accessed September 29, 2009).

Info about journals

"Is that journal peer-reviewed or scholarly?"  Find out more information about many journals in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.

Ulrich's Web logo

Tips:

  1. Search by journal TITLE or ISSN whenever possible
  2. Referee shirt icon means it's peer-reviewed
  3. Click on the journal title to see what kind of journal it is (under "Document type")

Where is the article?

Click on the "Find it!" icon to find more information about where to get the actual article once you find it in an index or database.

Find it button

If the article is available online, you will see a link to it.

If the article is available in print, you will see a library location (e.g. King Library) and a call number.  Go to that library's periodicals section and look up the call number.  Make sure you write down the volume, issue, and year of your article before you go.

If no copies are available, click on the link that says "InterLibrary Loan Options."  Click on "Journal Article" and fill out the info.  We will try to find the article for you and mail or email it to you.