Art and Architecture History: ART 312
Welcome ART 312
Niou serenades Nakanokimi. Detail from 12th century Genji monogatari emaki scroll.
Find Books
| Kind of Materials | Time needed | |
| Miami catalog | Books, videos, etc. at Miami (including regional campuses and SW Depository) |
0-3 days |
| OhioLINK catalog | Books, videos, etc. in Ohio (e.g. at Ohio State, at UC, at Kent State, etc.) |
3-5 business days |
|
WorldCat |
Books, videos, etc. at universities or libraries outside of Ohio (e.g. in Michigan or Illinois) |
5+ days |
Finding Articles
General Indexes
- JSTOR (full-text scholarly articles and books. Can limit to Art and Asian studies)
- Academic Search Complete (most general index)
- MLA International Bibliography (good index for general humanities - history, literature, culture, religion, etc)
- Project Muse (full text scholarly articles. Can limit to Art and Area studies)
Art-specific Indexes
- Art Bibliographies Modern (useful for contemporary art)
- Art Full Text (most general index)
- Bibliography of the History of Art (useful for Western art)
Asia-specific Indexes
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (useful to find chapters in books - use as INDEX ONLY)
Images
- ARTstor (over 1 million images from museums and private collections)
General tips for using Indexes
- Use "boolean" searching. For example:
(japonisme OR japonism) AND (printmaking OR painting) - Use truncation if appropriate
catalog* = catalog, catalogue, catalogs, catalogues, cataloging
! be careful ! art* = art, arts, artist, articulate, artichoke... - Limit your search options if you have too many hits. For example:
--> In JSTOR: use the Advanced Search to limit to "Articles," and to limit to Art History and Asian Studies journals
Info about journals
"Is that journal peer-reviewed or scholarly?" Find out more information about many journals in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.
Tips:
- Search by journal TITLE or ISSN whenever possible
- Referee shirt icon means it's peer-reviewed
- Click on the journal title to see what kind of journal it is (under "Document type")
How to evaluate a book
When selecting books for your bibliography, pay attention to the publisher as well as the type of book you are looking at.
Publishers:
- Is it an academic (university) press?
- Who is the author (feel free to Google them)? What else have they written?
- Is it associated with a museum? What do you know about that museum?
- When was this book published?
Type of book:
- Is it an exhibition catalog? When/where was the exhibition? (Hint: check out the bibliography of recent major exhibition catalogs)
- Is it a critical work?
- Is it a primary source?
- How old is the book?