Broad coverage of over 600 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins from 1984 to present. Full-text of many articles from 1995 -
Art Full Text indexes articles from over 370 art periodicals from around the world. Sources include periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins in English and other languages. Coverage is broad and includes art history, architecture, advertising, archaeology, crafts, fine arts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, jewelry, film, and photography. This database also cites art reproductions used to illustrate articles or advertisements. Full text is available for selected journals starting from 1997. Abstracts available for articles published after 1994. Citations indexed from 1929-present. Art Full Text continues Art Abstracts and Art Index.
Index of over 600 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins from 1929-1984. Continued by Art Full Text.
Art Index Retrospective allows you to search more than 55 years of art journalism from more than 600 publications. Feature articles, interviews, film reviews, book reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, editorials, reproduction of works of art, notices of competitions and awards and letters to the editor are indexed. Subjects covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, crafts, and much more.
Abstracts of international journals, books, theses, and exhibitions on modern and contemporary art. Sources include journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews.
ARTbibliographies Modern provides full abstracts of international journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. More than 13,000 new entries are added each year. Subject coverage is broad and includes traditional media (e.g. drawing, painting, printmaking, sculpture), as well as decorative and applied arts (e.g. ceramics, fashion, graphic design, jewelry, textiles) and newer art forms (e.g. body art, computer and electronic art, installations, performance art, video art). While the focus is on late-19th and 20th Century art, coverage also extends back to include information about the influence of earlier artists. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839.
Full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and 220 books related to art and architecture.
This database provides full-text coverage of hundreds of periodicals and books, as well as cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for nearly a thousand academic journals, magazines and trade publications and books. The database also provides selective coverage for additional publications and an immense Image Collection provided by Picture Desk and others. Full-text coverage dates back to 1937.
European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007. Includes Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA)
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) indexes and abstracts scholarly writing on the history of European and American art from late antiquity (4th century AD) to the present. Sources include art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and over 4,300 periodicals. Subject coverage includes fine arts, decorative and applied arts, industrial design and architecture, and popular and folk art. Photography and contemporary new media as well as performing arts (scenography and costume) are also covered. BHA is particularly strong in European art from the medieval through modern periods, and in the indexing of foreign language materials.
Abstracts journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of American and Canadian history. Includes state and local history journals as well as major history journals.
America: History and Life (AHL) abstracts journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of American and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Sources in AHL are almost all in English and include state and local history journals as well as major history journals. Search the index by keyword and limit the search by desired time-period covered in the article. For additional help in searching use the link in AHL.
Full-text collection of 1,500 American magazines from 1741 into the 20th century
American Periodical Series Online is a full-text collection of 1,500 American magazines published from 1741 into the 20th century. The database provides PDFs of page images and single articles. It can be browsed by title, editor, or publisher, and searched using a sophisticated search menu. The collection includes the first American magazines, early literary and cultural reviews, the first scholarly journals, and many popular magazines that continue to be published to this day, including Atlantic, Ladies'Home Journal, Vanity Fair, Puck, and Scientific American. This is a work-in-progress and is updated daily. For additional indexing use the 19th Century Index and Index to Early American Periodicals.
Full text of primary historical resources from the 18th and 19th century, including Godey's Lady's Book, the Pennsylvania Gazette, South Carolina Gazette, and a database of 19th century African-American newspapers.
The Archives provides the full text of primary historical resources from the 18th and 19th century, including Godey's Ladys Book and the Pennsylvania Gazette. The Archives contains databases of major Civil war articles from The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer. It also has a database of selected 19th Century African-American papers, including Freedoms Journal, The Colored American, The North Star the Frederick Douglass Paper (1851-59), and others. The Archives is searchable by keyword. It also includes Study Guides that will direct users to relevant resources on general subjects such as Crime and Punishment and Black History and prominent individuals such as George Washington and Abraham Lincoln.
Harpweek contains the full text of Harpers Weekly, an important magazine that reflects 19th century American culture. Includes illustrations.
Harpweek contains the full text of Harpers Weekly, an important magazine that reflects 19th century American culture. This index includes every word of the text, all advertisements, as well as four separate subject indexes (subject, illustrations, literature and publishing, and advertising). Harpweek can also be browsed by date.
Full text of the complete run of the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago, with page images, individual articles, ads, and illustrationss in downloadable PDF. It includes display and classified ads, cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials, obituaries, and commentary, as well as articles, all of which is searchable
Full text of the complete run of New York Times from 1851 to three years ago, with page images, individual articles, ads, and illustrations in downloadable PDF. It includes, and is searchable by, display and classified ads, cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials, obituaries, and commentary, as well as articles.
Searchable repository of nearly 1 million digital images of art, architecture, photography, decorative arts and design, and archaeology
ARTStor is a repository of over 500,000 digital images of art, architecture, photography, decorative arts and design, and archaeology. ARTStor's software tools support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.