Art and Architecture History: Ebooks & Other Online Resources

Note that if you click "Art" under "Browse by Subject" you can search for just art titles. You will need to create a free account to borrow titles.

The Getty’s Online Scholarly Catalogue Initiative provides access to catalogues from the Art Institute of Chicago; Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Smithsonian Institution; Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA); National Gallery of Art (NGA); San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA); Seattle Art Museum; Tate; Walker Art Center; and the Indianapolis Museum of Art.

Online publications from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Online research catalogs from the British Museum.

Scroll down to the NGA Online Editions heading.

Provides access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions.

The Fundación Juan March presents to the public its on-line gateway to the complete content of each of the 205 catalogues accompanying the exhibitions held at its three venues since 1973, in Madrid, Cuenca (the Museo de Arte Abstracto Español) and Palma de Mallorca (the Museu Fundación Juan March).

Founded in 2013, the Canadian Online Art Book Project is a growing digital library of books–all original works commissioned by the Art Canada Institute–by the country’s leading art experts on artists who have made a critical contribution to the evolution of the nation’s art history.

PDFs of essays commissioned by the Video Data Bank on the subject of video art and artists, as well as a range of essays about individual artists’ work.

Publications of cultural, artistic and historical interest to researchers in Greek art and archaeology.

A partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Searches a wide variety of open access content on the web, including Project Gutenberg, HathiTrust, The New York Public Library Digital Collections, and the World Digital Library.

Art history resources are interspersed with other arts content in the arts section,
and include titles like American Encounters (2018), The Bright Continent: African Art History (2018), and
Guide to Byzantine Art (2021), to name a few.

An excellent list of online resources for images, archives, online exhibitions, and e-learning.

Links to the online collections of 2,500 museums.

Created by the Met.

Archive of twentieth- and twenty-first-century avant-garde and experimental literature, film, and music.

CARTA is a collaborative project developed from a partnership between the Internet Archive and the New York Arts Resources Consortium (NYARC) aimed at capturing and preserving at-risk web-based art materials. The project utilizes the resources and professional expertise of a collaborative entity of arts and cultural heritage institutions to build collections of archived web-based content related to art history and contemporary art practice.

Digital Benin brings together all objects, historical photographs and rich documentation material from collections worldwide to provide a long-requested overview of the royal artifacts from Benin Kingdom looted in the late nineteenth century.