Art and Architecture History: ART 309
Welcome ART 309
"Seated couple." 16th-19th century, Mali/Dogon. From the Metropolitan Museum of Art, accessed through ARTstor.
Art Databases
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text coverage of hundreds of periodicals and books, as well as cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for nearly a thousand academic journals, magazines and trade publications and books. The database also provides selective coverage for additional publications and an immense Image Collection provided by Picture Desk and others. Full-text coverage dates back to 1937.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowArt Full Text indexes articles from over 370 art periodicals from around the world. Sources include periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins in English and other languages. Coverage is broad and includes art history, architecture, advertising, archaeology, crafts, fine arts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, jewelry, film, and photography. This database also cites art reproductions used to illustrate articles or advertisements. Full text is available for selected journals starting from 1997. Abstracts available for articles published after 1994. Citations indexed from 1929-present. Art Full Text continues Art Abstracts and Art Index.
- Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowArt Index Retrospective allows you to search more than 55 years of art journalism from more than 600 publications. Feature articles, interviews, film reviews, book reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, editorials, reproduction of works of art, notices of competitions and awards and letters to the editor are indexed. Subjects covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, crafts, and much more.
- JSTORFull-text backfiles of select scholarly periodicals in the Arts, Business, Humanities, Sciences and Social Sciences. Very major resource for art & architectural historians.
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowARTbibliographies Modern provides full abstracts of international journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. More than 13,000 new entries are added each year. Subject coverage is broad and includes traditional media (e.g. drawing, painting, printmaking, sculpture), as well as decorative and applied arts (e.g. ceramics, fashion, graphic design, jewelry, textiles) and newer art forms (e.g. body art, computer and electronic art, installations, performance art, video art). While the focus is on late-19th and 20th Century art, coverage also extends back to include information about the influence of earlier artists. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839.
African Art Journals
African Arts
- Issues from 1967 to present (JSTOR, MIT Press)
- Print copies: NX587 .A6 (in Art/Arch library, 1974-2011)
NKA: Journal of Contemporary African Art
- Issues from 2011 to present (EJC)
- Print copies: NX587 .N54 (in Art/Arch library, 2006-present)
Critical Interventions: Journal of African Art History and Visual Culture
- Issues from 2007 to present (Taylor and Francis)
- Print copies: N7380 .C75 (in Art/Arch library, 2016-present)
African Art Resources
- African Art Subject Guide (Smithsonian)Links to various online African Art resources, from the National Museum of African Art
Black World Studies Databases
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
- Africa-wide Information This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database covering a wide array of important bibliographies, indexes and databases focusing on information to support The New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD). Topics include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism and much more on Africa. Sources include book citations, periodicals and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, music recordings and much more.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowAn index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern (Medieval to today) languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric since 2000). Coverage has varied but now includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.
Citing your Sources
- Citation Resources: Chicago/TurabianGuide to some examples and resources for citing works in Chicago or Turabian styles
- Citation ManagersGuide to various online citation managers available that integrate with library databases
Useful Encyclopedias
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought
- From St. Augustine and early Ethiopian philosophers to the anticolonialist movements of Pan Africanism and Negritude, The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. All major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion will be covered, as well as significant historical figures and social movements.
New Encyclopedia of Africa (also in print at King Reference: DT2 .N48 2008)
- Comprehensive, 5 volumes, with bibliographic references and index (nice!)
A Dictionary of African Mythology (also in print at King Reference: BL2400 .S24 2000)
- Over 400 entries from the entire continent of gods, goddesses, tricksters, heroes, origin stories, etc.
- Comprehensive encyclopedia of many different aspects of art and artists from around the world. Includes bibliographic information.
- Only 3 simultaneous users
African Ceremonies (King Reference: GN645 .B4 1999)
- 2 volumes of excellent images of African ceremonies, rites, celebrations, rituals, and customs.
Peoples and Cultures of Africa (King Reference: DT14 .P46 2006)
- 6 volume set, organized geographically. Emphasis on cultural practices.
Subject terms for books
Use the CLASSIC catalog or the OHIOLINK catalog to do subject searching
- Africa -- [many subcategories] (e.g. Africa -- Religion; Africa -- Social Life and Customs]
- Art* Africa* [many added subcategories]
- Art Objects African
- Art* Black
- African American Art*
Call numbers for African Art
If you're browsing in the Art/Arch library for books on African Art, try looking in the
N7380
area. Look in Folios and Non-Folios. If you see a book that looks relevant, check out the book's bibliography. You can copy down titles from that bibliography and search for those titles in the catalog.
Where is the article?
Click on the "Find it!" icon to find more information about where to get the actual article once you find it in an index or database.
If the article is available online, you will see a link to it.
If the article is available in print, you will see a library location (e.g. King Library) and a call number. Go to that library's periodicals section and look up the call number. Make sure you write down the volume, issue, and year of your article before you go.
If no copies are available, click on the link that says "InterLibrary Loan Options." Click on "Journal Article" and fill out the info. We will try to find the article for you and mail or email it to you.
Info about journals
"Is that journal peer-reviewed or scholarly?" Find out more information about many journals in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.
Tips:
- Search by journal TITLE or ISSN whenever possible
- Referee shirt icon means it's peer-reviewed
- Click on the journal title to see what kind of journal it is (under "Document type")