Art and Architecture History: ART 233

Welcome ART 233

Embroidered cotton dress from San Juan Chilateca, Chiapas (Mexico). Accessed through ARTstor.

Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion
10-volume comprehensive encyclopedia of clothing from around the world. Organized by geographic area.
Countries and their Cultures (e-book)
Online encyclopedia of countries, with a focus on cultural aspects and customs.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Specialized encyclopedia of clothing. Includes information on traditional dress. Also in print: King Reference GT507 .E53 2005
Fashion, Costume, and Culture
Broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day. Explores how and why items were created, the people who made them, and their uses.
Also in print: King Ready Ref GT511 .P46 2004
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life
Excellent encyclopedia of daily customs and practices from cultures around the world. Good historical perspective.
PRINT ONLY. King Reference GT31 .G74 2004 (vol 1-3)

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
(3 simultaneous users) Comprehensive online encyclopedia of art and cultures. Good resource for learning the cultural/artistic context of textiles.
Although the Benezit Dictionary of Art is included in search results, Miami does not subscribe to this portion, so you will not be able to access them. You will see a red lock icon by these entries. Wertz Art and Architecture Library's reference section has the 2006 Benezit Dictionary of Art in hardcopy.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (e-book)
5-volume online encyclopedia, with a focus on contemporary life. 1) Africa, 2) Americas, 3-4) Asia and Oceania, 5) Europe
World Clothing and Fashion
2-volume encyclopedia of the history, culture, and social influences of clothing from around the world
Also in Print: King Ready Ref: GT507 .S6 2014

Try searching the catalog for books by SUBJECT. Try some of these, substituting the name of your country or region for the underlined text:

Subjects: Art and Architecture