Skip to main content

Art and Architecture History: ART 311

Welcome ART 311

Qingming Shang he tu

Detail from Qingming shang he tu (Spring Festival on the River), early 12th century.  ARTstor. 

Find Books

  Kind of Materials Time needed
Miami catalog Books, videos, etc. at Miami (including
regional campuses and SW Depository)
0-3 days
OhioLINK catalog Books, videos, etc. in Ohio (e.g. at Ohio State,
at UC, at Kent State, etc.)
3-5 business days

WorldCat
(Interlibrary loan)

Books, videos, etc. at universities or libraries
outside of Ohio (e.g. in Michigan or Illinois)
5+ days

Art indexes

General arts/humanities indexes

How to evaluate a book

When selecting books for your bibliography, pay attention to the publisher as well as the type of book you are looking at.

Publishers:

  • Is it an academic (university) press?
  • Who is the author (feel free to Google them)?  What else have they written?
  • Is it associated with a museum?  What do you know about that museum?
  • When was this book published? 

Type of book:

  • Is it an exhibition catalog?  When/where was the exhibition? (Hint: check out the bibliography of recent major exhibition catalogs) 
  • Is it a critical work? 
  • Is it a primary source?
  • How old is the book?

Info about journals

"Is that journal peer-reviewed or scholarly?"  Find out more information about many journals in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.

Ulrich's periodicals directory logo

Tips:

  1. Search by journal TITLE or ISSN whenever possible
  2. Referee shirt icon means it's peer-reviewed
  3. Click on the journal title to see what kind of journal it is (under "Document type")

Search tips

Rule #1: Check bibliographies
Bibliographies and footnotes/endnotes are a scholar's paper trail. That is the record of their research. Don't waste your time re-inventing the wheel and randomly guessing at keywords online. Look at bibliographies as your guide to finding additional sources and scholarship. 

General tips for using Indexes

  1. Use Advanced Search tools
    Some databases let you limit your search by date, subject area, or by document type (e.g. articles, reviews, etc)
  2. Use truncation if appropriate
    catalog* = catalog, catalogue, catalogs, catalogues, cataloging
  3. Use Boolean operators or quotation marks (or both)
    "Mao Tse-tung" OR "Mao Zedong"