Art and Architecture History: ART 162
Welcome ART 162
"Eharo Mask." Early 20th century; Papua New Guinea, Elema people, Orokolo Bay. From the Metropolitan Museum of Art, accessed through ARTstor.
Databases for African, Native American, and Oceanic Art
- Africa-wide Information This link opens in a new windowEbsco) Focus on African, African-American, and African Diaspora studies. Includes citations to books, articles, pamphlets, dissertations, and more.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window(Ebsco) General art database, with coverage from 1977-present. International in scope. Many citations include attached full text articles.
- Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window(Ebsco) Similar content as Art Full Text, but covers 1929-1984. Mostly citations and abstracts; fewer attached full text articles.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowDigital library of images from museums, galleries, etc. Can browse by geographic region.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowCollection of documents relating to world cultures and archaeology. Indexing by specific cultural groups.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly archive of full-text articles from multiple disciplines.
Useful Encyclopedias
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowComprehensive encyclopedia of many different aspects of art and artists from around the world. Includes bibliographic information. Only 3 users at a time.
- The Continuum encyclopedia of native art : worldview, symbolism, and culture in Africa, Oceania, and native North America byCall Number: King Reference E98.A7 W49 2000
- Encyclopedia of Native American tribes byCall Number: E-book
- Encyclopedia of the peoples of Asia and Oceania byCall Number: King Reference GN625 .W47 2009
- Native Americans: An encyclopedia of history, culture, and peoples byCall Number: E-book
- New encyclopedia of Africa byCall Number: E-book
Museum Guides
- African Art Subject Guide (Smithsonian)Links to various online African Art resources, from the National Museum of African Art
Subject terms for books
Use the CLASSIC catalog or the OHIOLINK catalog to do subject searching
- Africa -- [many subcategories]
- example: Africa -- Religion
- example: Africa -- Social Life and Customs
- Indians of North America -- [many subcategories]
- example: Indians of North America -- Southwest, New -- Rites and Ceremonies
- example: Indians of North America -- Ohio
- Papua New Guinea -- [many subcategories]
- example: Papua New Guinea -- History
- example: Papua New Guinea -- Social Life and Customs