Educational Psychology: EDP 256
EDP 256
1. Find Books using the Catalog & Journal Articles using Databases
Whether you're searching the Library Catalog for books or the databases listed below for journal articles, be sure to set some limits to narrow your search by utilzing the facets on the left side of the page.
Different databases index different sets of journals. Use the one (or a couple) that best suits the kind of information you're looking for. DO NOT limit to "full text only" (use the Find It! button) and DO limit to peer-reviewed journal articles.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides resources on all levels of education, including higher education and includes more professional and trade publications than indexed elsewhere.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowEssential and authoritative database for education research. An index from the US Department of Education that has been around since 1964 ,with some full-text access.
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowPsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
2. Search the web strategically
Use some of the tips below to strengthen your web search:
- Put quotes around appropriate phrases (e.g. "Down Syndrome")
- Limit your search to reputable sites with a Site: search (e.g. site:.gov)
- Set date limits to get the most current content (under Search Tools)
3. Evaluate Resources
The CRAAP method
Currency (When?)
When was the article published? If the article is on a website, when was the page last updated? Are links to other sites still active?
Relevance (What?)
Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question? Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)? Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
Authority (Who?)
Who wrote the article? What are the credentials of the author? How can I find out more about the author?
Accuracy (Where?)
Is the information supported by evidence? Has the information been reviewed or refereed? Can you verify any of the information in another source? Are there spelling, grammar or typographical errors?
Purpose / Bias (Why?)
What is the purpose of the periodical? What does the author say is the purpose of the article? Is the article objective or is only one point of view presented? Does the language or tone seem unbiased and free of emotion?
4. Use reliable tools to help you cite properly
- APA Style Guide to Electronic ResourcesAn electronic version of part of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition. Details how to cite electronic resources such as journal articles found in a database, blogs, videos, and more.
Your BEST resource for citing any of your sources in proper APA style is to use the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th Edition which you can find at King Library. Most databases offer a citation, but be sure to take those as suggestions as they are often incorrect.
- Purdue's OWLPurdue's Online Writing Lab is one of the best online resources for citation help. Use the menu on the left side of the OWL to navigate for appropriate source assistance.
5. Ask if/when you need help
Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button
When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.
