Educational Psychology: EDP 324

Best Bets for Articles by Academic Discipline

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our broadest, most general index to academic articles and magazines, covering virtually all academic areas of study, including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
*Note: Please ensure that you Limit to Peer-Reviewed resources when using this database.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes 4,450 scholarly Business journals, covering the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each issue reports in-depth on a single theme in the areas of political and social issues, health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Good resource on education and related fields.
Includes journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers. There is a free version that anyone can use at eric.ed.gov. Use the library version because you will be able to access the full-text of the articles you find more easily. Currently indexes more than 600 journals.

In addition, contributors have given ERIC permission to display more than 115,000 full-text materials in PDF format. These materials are generally part of the recent grey literature such as conference papers and reports, rather than journal articles and books. Older ERIC documents that are not free on the web are available on microfiche, but must be recalled from storage.
GeoScience World (including GeoRef) This link opens in a new window
Best bet for peer-reviewed journals in Geology, from the major societies.
Music Index Online This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles from the 1960s-present in all Music topics.
Coverage fairly comprehensive from 1970-present
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Contains all areas of Psychology including, education, business, medicine, nursing, law, social work, and animal behavior.
Subject include: psychology, speech pathology and audiology, nursing, gerontology, social work, American studies, educational psychology, educational leadership, disability studies.

PubMed
Provides millions of citations in Neuroscience, Medicine, and all other Health Sciences.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of Sociology, including: social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 priority coverage journals as well as 2,840 selective coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.
Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
Useful resource for Citation Chaining and finding High Impact resources particularly in the Sciences and Social Sciences.

Writing a Literature Review

Literature Review Slides
This brief slideshow highlights key characteristics of a literature review in general and provides some tips on writing one.

Howe Writing Center Guide to Literature Reviews
Provides a brief overview of methods for choosing resources and the process of writing a literature review.
Literature Reviews: UNC Writing Center
This handout explains what literature reviews are and offer insights into the form and construction of literature reviews in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

A Guide to Writing the Dissertation Literature Review
Discusses why to write a literature review and also includes Cooper's Taxonomy of Literature Reviews.

Sample Literature Reviews

Nepali Bhutanese Refugees Reap Support Through Community Gardening
The literature review for this study is organized primarily in a thematic way around topics outlining the political situation and general perspectives of Nepali Bhutanese refugees in the US, as well as the use of community gardening as a mental health intervention.
Even Einstein Struggled
The literature review for this study discusses topics in a thematic way, moving from the research on students' motivation levels to the potential impact of story-based instruction.
Middle School Student Performance
This extensive literature review covers many themes relating to the importance of middle school education, including student motivation and readiness for high school.

Citing Sources

Purdue's OWL Citation Guide
This online guide provides formatting guidelines for the most prevalent citation styles, including APA, MLA, Chicago, and AMA. The citation style that you use usually relates to your field of study.
NCSU Libraries Citation Builder
Input citation data into fields to automatically generate APA or other citations.
Note: ensure that you input information accurately, i.e. capitalization of article vs journal is different.

Last Updated: Sep 17, 2024 3:13 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/EDP
Print Page

Subjects: Education, Educational Psychology