Skip to main content

Educational Psychology: Finding Full Text of Articles

Table of Contents

Finding the full text of articles is typically straightforward, especially when searching our databases. The  yellow Find It! button image button is intended to ease access. But on occasion, things get tricky. Use the steps below to determine how you can obtain the full text of any article - whether we own it or not.

  1. How to access an article using a citation
  2. Do we have electronic access?
  3. Do we have it in print?
  4. Accessing print articles
  5. Requesting articles we do not have immediate access to via Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Have a Citation / Specific Article

Roese, N. J., & Summerville, A. (2005). What we regret most... and why. Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin, 31(9), 1273-1285.

  1. Search the title – in quotes – using the Google Scholar tab on the Library's homepage. This ensures you see what you pay to have access to.image highlighting google scholar tab on library's homepage
  2. Access points will be out to the left or under the more menu. Select the Find it @MiamiOH link to see if we have access to the full text.image of result in scholar with access links both to the right and in the string of links underneath
  3. The Link Resolver page will have a link to the full text, if available.Image of full text options after clicking on Find It! button/link

If it's not clear whether we have the full text electronically

Search the title of the journal on the E-Journal Titles tab of the Library's homepage to determine if we have access to the journal and to the particular issue required. 

Screenshot of Electronic Coverage when searching a journal title on the e-journals tab

If we have electronic access, click on the link that includes the year the article was published, and use the citation information to navigate to the appropriate volume, issue, and article.

Checking print holdings

On occasion, we may not have electronic access to the article you're seeking. Before requesting the article via Interlibrary Loan, check our print holdings by searching the catalog (Books & More tab) to see if we have print access to the journal. 

Screenshot of searching journal title on Books & More tab of Library's homepage

Journals may have multiple records in the catalog. Print holdings show up with an actual location (e.g. Hughes Storage, SW Depository), and a list of volumes/issues available. Click the 'Show More' link to determine if we own the volume/issue you need.

Screenshot of print journal search result in catalog search

If it is available, see the Accessing Print Articles box below. If we do not have access to the journal, volume, or issue you're seeking, refer to the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) box below.

If we have the print volume but no electronic access

If we only have the issue of a journal you're seeking in print, you can request it by:

  1. Clicking on the ILL & Storage Requests button on the Library's homepage and logging in with your unique ID and password. If this is your first time, you will need to create an account.Image highlighting the ILL & Storage Requests button/link on the Library's homepage
  2. Select the Article From Storage (Hughes / SWORD) link on the left side, input the appropriate citation information into the form, and click Submit.
    Screenshot of the InterLibrary Loan/Storage request interface with links on the left
  3. You will receive an email when the article is available (generally 1-2 business days).

If we do not have access to the full text of the article

You can request articles that we do not have full text access to via InterLibrary Loan (ILL). You may see this as an option when using the Find It button.

Screenshot of link options after clicking the Find It! button/link if item is not readily accessible. Highlights 'request item' options

You can request these articles by clicking on the link & logging in with your unique ID and password. Verify that the imported citation information in the request form is correct before submitting.


If you are not coming through the Find It button, you can use the steps below to request an article through InterLibrary Loan.

  1. Clicking on the ILL & Storage Requests button on the Library's homepage and logging in with your unique ID and password. If this is your first time, you will need to create an account.Screenshot of the Library homepage in which the InterLibary Loan/Storage requests button/link is highlighted
  2. Select the Article from Journal link on the left side, input the appropriate citation information into the form, and click Submit.Screenshot of InterLibrary Loan / Storage request interface highlighting links on the left
  3. You will receive an email when the article is available (generally 3-5 business days).