Educational Psychology: EDP 652
Best Bets
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowSearches over 1,500 journals. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 1.2 million items including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowDesigned for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIncludes journal articles, books, book chapters, reports, and dissertations on an array of subjects related to psychology including, education, business, medicine, nursing, law, social work, and animal behavior. Ability to limit by methodology (e.g. empirical, qualitative, or quantitative studies).
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new windowCitations for dissertations published as far back as 1861 from 1000 graduate schools and universities. Those published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Dissertations can be purchased from ProQuest/UMI or are available for download at a price, but you can usually also borrow them for free through Interlibrary Loan. Some authors have opted to publish as open access which you can find on Dissertations and Theses Open. For theses and dissertations from Ohio institutions, search the Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (ETD).
For more resources, visit the Find Articles tab of this guide.
Tips & Tricks
Keyword Searching
Truncation: *
- e.g: educat* = educate, educated, education, etc.
Phrase Searching: "....."
- e.g: "special education" searches the two words as a phrase; without the quotes, the words are often searched separately --> 'special AND education' or 'special OR education'
Author Searching
- Search by last name or first & last name. When you find an article by that author, click on their hyperlinked name to access all author-affiliated works in that database.
Ebsco Searching
- Create an account (it is NOT linked to your Miami email/ID) by clicking the Sign In link in the upper right corner of any Ebsco interface/database. When you're signed in, you can save things to folders, save some aesthetic preferences, and even share folders with other Ebsco account holders.
Finding / Accessing Full Text
- See the Finding Full Text of Articles tab of this guide for specific details or contact me via one of the methods on the left. You can also use the chat feature on the library's homepage for quick help.
Writing
- Start thinking of formatting from the beginning. Use this Dissertation and Thesis Formatting for OhioLINK ETD Submission to help.
- Make an appointment with an associate at Howe Writing Center to get another set of eyes on your thesis.
Writing a Literature Review
- Literature Review SlidesThis brief slideshow highlights key characteristics of a literature review in general and provides some tips on writing one.
- Literature Reviews: UNC Writing CenterThis handout explains what literature reviews are and offer insights into the form and construction of literature reviews in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- The Literature Review: A Few Tips On Conducting ItThis website includes questions to ask yourself when writing a literature review.
- A Guide to Writing the Dissertation Literature ReviewThis article discusses the purpose of writing a literature review and describes the different elements that make up a literature review.
Additional links
- Search Strategy GridDownload this grid and make it your own. Keep track of what subject terms make sense for your topic in each database you search.
