Skip to main content

Citation Resources: Chicago Examples - Print

Books

Book by One Author

Author. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. 

Example:

Shields, David. The Thing about Life Is That One Day You'll Be Dead.  New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2008.

Book by Two or More Authors or Editors

For two or more authors only the first author's name is inverted and a comma is used before and after the first author's name. 

Author one, and author two. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Levitt, Steven D., and Stephen J. Dubner. Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything.  New York: William Morrow, 2005.

Chicago Manual of Style pp. 695-696, Section 14.75 and 14.76.

Chapter in an Edited Volume

Author(s). "Title of chapter." In Title of book, edited by Editor(s), page range of entry. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Ellet, Elizabeth F.L. "By Rail and Stage to Galena." In Prairie State: Impressions of Illinois, 1673-1967, by Travelers and Other Observers, edited by Paul M. Angle, 271-79. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1968.

Chicago Manual of Style pp. 708,  Section 14.112

Articles in Scholarly Journals

Author(s). "Title of article." Title of Journal Volume, Issue (Year): page range.

Example:

Weinstein, Joshua I. “The Market in Plato’s RepublicClassical Philology 104 (2009): 439–58. 

Chicago Manual of Style pp. 730-733, Sections 14.175-14.183

Articles in Popular Magazines and Newspapers

Author(s). "Title of article." Title of Periodical or Newspaper, Publication date. 

Example:

Mendelsohn, Daniel. “But Enough about Me.” New Yorker, January 25, 2010.

Chicago Manual of Style pp. 738-742, Sections 14.199-14.213 

Encyclopedia Entries

Well known encyclopedias and dictionaries are often cited in the notes rather than in bibliographies, however if the reference has substantial, authored entries, it may be cited like a multiauthor book.

Author(s). "Title of article." In Title of encyclopedia, Editor(s), page rangePlace of publication: Publisher, Year.  

Example:

Browning, Mark. "Peru." In World Education Encyclopedia, edited by Rebecca Marlow-Ferguson, 1045-1055. Detroit, MI: Gale Group/Thomson Learning, 2001.

Chicago Manual of Style p. 755, Section 14.247

Government Documents

If a report number exists, place it in parentheses after the title. 

Author(s) or Government Agency. Title of Publication (Report Number). Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. 

Example:

Berrick, Cathleen A. Homeland Security: DHS’s Progress and Challenges in Key Areas of Maritime, Aviation, and Cybersecurity. (GAO-10-106). Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 2009.

Creating a Bibliography

In Chicago style your cited sources are compiled in a Bibliography.

The bibliography should be double-spaced with a hanging indent used for each citation.

Within your Bibliography, your citations should be in alphabetical order based on the author's last name.  If there is no author listed, use the title of the source.