Skip to main content

Citation Resources: Chicago Examples - Electronic

eBooks

Books Downloaded from a Library or Bookseller

Author. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Online Format.

Example:

Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics, 2007. Kindle edition.

Books Consulted Online

Author. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. URL or DOI.

Example:

Antokoletz, Elliot. Musical Symbolism in the Operas of Debussy and Bartok. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. doi:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195365825.001.0001.

Chicago Manual of Style pp. 726-727, Sections 14.166-14.167

Articles in Online Scholarly Journals

Include a DOI if the journal lists one. If no DOI is available, list a URL. Include an access date only if one is required by your publisher or discipline.

Author(s). "Title of article." Title of Journal Volume (Year): page range. Accessed Month Day, Year. DOI or URL. 

Example:

Kossinets, Gueorgi, and Duncan J. Watts. "Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network." American Journal of Sociology 115 (2009): 405–50. Accessed February 28, 2010. doi:10.1086/599247.

Chicago Manual of Style pp. 734, Section 14.185

Articles in Popular Magazines and Newspapers

Author(s). "Title of article." Title of Magazine or Newspaper, Publication date. Access date. URL.

Example:

Stolberg, Sheryl Gay, and Robert Pear. “Wary Centrists Posing Challenge in Health Care Vote.” New York Times, February 27, 2010. Accessed February 28, 2010. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/28/us/politics/28health.html.

Chicago Manual of Style pp. 738-742, Sections 14.199-14.213 

Web Sites

Citing website content can often be limited to a mention in the text or in a note. If a more formal citation is desired, it may be styled like the example below. Because website content can change, an access date or date of last site modification should be included.

Author of Website. "Title of Webpage." Access or Modification Date. URL.

Examples:

Google. “Google Privacy Policy.” Last modified March 11, 2009. http://www.google.com/intl/en/privacypolicy.html.

McDonald’s Corporation. “McDonald’s Happy Meal Toy Safety Facts.” Accessed July 19, 2008. http://www.mcdonalds.com/corp/about/factsheets.html.

Chicago Manual of Style Website

Chicago Manual of Style 14.244, 14.245

Encyclopedia Entries

Well known encyclopedias and dictionaries are often cited in the notes rather than in bibliographies, however if the reference has substantial, authored entries, it may be cited like a multiauthor book.

Author(s). "Title of article." In Title of encyclopedia, Editor(s)Publisher, Year. URL or DOI.  

Example:

Isaacson, Melissa. "Bulls." In Encyclopedia of Chicago, edited by Janice L. Reiff, Ann Durkin Keating, and James R. Grossman. Chicago Historical Society, 2005. http://www.encyclopedia.chicagohistory.org/pages/184.html.

Chicago Manual of Style p. 756, Section 14.248

Government Documents

If a report number exists, place it in parentheses after the title. 

Author(s) or Government Agency. Title of Publication (Report Number). Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. URL

Example:

Berrick, Cathleen A. Homeland Security: DHS’s Progress and Challenges in Key Areas of Maritime, Aviation, and Cybersecurity.  (GAO-10-106). Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 2009. http://www.gao.gov/new.items/d10106.pdf

Creating a Bibliography

In Chicago style your cited sources are compiled in a Bibliography.

The bibliography should be double-spaced with a hanging indent used for each citation.

Within your Bibliography, your citations should be in alphabetical order based on the author's last name.  If there is no author listed, use the title of the source.