Educational Psychology: EDP 491
Find Relevant Resources
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 1.2 million items including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowSearches over 1,500 journals. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowDesigned for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
- What Works ClearinghouseA trusted source of scientific evidence for what works in education to improve student outcomes. Search over 700 publications and reports that summarize more than 10,500 reviewed studies to provide credible and reliable practices, policies, and interventions.
Best Bets for APA Help
- APA Style Guide for Electronic ResourcesAn online resource published by the APA that offers citation guidance for digital resources. Miami users may print copies for personal use only. You can also visit the APA section of our Citation Resources Guide or any of the resources below.
- APA Style Online TutorialA module-based video tutorial. Use the outline on the right side of the page to skip to the section you need help with. Most videos are <1 minute.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences.
Annotated Bibliography
Summarize
Briefly explain the thesis of the resource - what is the main idea? what conclusions are made? Be concise!
Evaluate / Critique
See below for evaluation tips.
Reflect
Why/how is this resource relevant to your overall topic? How does it differentiate from other resources?
See a sample annotation: https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/03/
Let's try: What Would Evidence-Based Policy Look Like?
Evaluating Resources
Use the method below when critiquing a resource.
The CRAAP method
Currency (When?)
When was the article published? If the article is on a website, when was the page last updated? Are links to other sites still active?
Relevance (What?)
Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question? Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)? How does this source relate to other sources you're using?
Authority (Who?)
Who wrote the article? What are the credentials of the author? How can I find out more about the author? Who is the publisher or what is the title of the journal? Is it scholarly? Is it peer-reviewed?
Accuracy (Where?)
Is the information supported by evidence? Has the information been reviewed or refereed? Can you verify any of the information in another source? Are there spelling, grammar or typographical errors?
Purpose / Bias (Why?)
What is the purpose of the publication? What does the author say is the purpose of the article? Is the article objective or is only one point of view presented? Does the language or tone seem unbiased and free of emotion? How does this resource apply to your own research?
Process
Follow these steps when preparing your annotated bibliography:
- Find relevant resources
- Cite resources properly
- Annotate each resource
Some content on this page from...
- Purdue OWL's Annotated BibliographiesProvides an overview of what an annotated bibliography is along with an example and samples.
- The Writing Center @UNC: Annotated BibliographiesProvides an extensive overview of annotated bibliographies including types.