International Studies: News & Newspapers
Subscribe to NY Times
Oxford campus users only.
The New York Times subscription includes daily access to all online content except for the crossword.
First time users must register while on the Oxford campus:
- Go to nytimes.com/grouppass.
- Create a NYTimes.com account using your school e-mail address. If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your school e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear.
- Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location.
- You will need to renew your access every 6 months, as prompted by the NYT.
Additional information is available online.
News
- International Newspapers on the "Newspapers" Research GuideA Research Guide devoted solely to newspapers and news sources. In additional to International news, you'll find Ohio newspapers, national newspapers, news magazines, and information about print subscriptions.
- NexisUniMore than 6,000 sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
- Factiva(1969 - ) Full-text coverage of the major US and international newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, London Times, etc. It also includes television and radio transcripts, and business and trade journals.
- Ethnic News WatchInterdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
- Newspaper SourceProvides cover-to-cover full text for 25 national and international newspapers, selected articles from over 260 regional U.S. papers, and some television and radio news transcripts, in addition to indexing for a far larger number of papers.
- Mideastwire This link opens in a new windowA daily English-language newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
- Arab West Report - Press SummariesThe Arab West Report is an independent weekly digest of Egyptian newspaper translations and editorial analysis, focusing primarily on Arab-West and Muslim-Christian relations. Our English summary translations of Egyptian newspaper articles and special reports deal with issues that have either been controversial or misreported in various media.
- Worldpress.orgOne of the web’s largest and most comprehensive directories of World Newspapers and Magazines, sorted by Country, region, and political affiliation.
- World News NetworkWorld News Network presents news from more than 800 reputable sources including mainstream providers BBC, CNN, Reuters, Washington Post, etc. to more regional and localized sources.
- Latin American News digestEnglish-language coverage of news and commentary, produced by Latin Americans, for Latin Americans
Newspapers & Alternative Media
- Al Jazeera (English)Al Jazeera English is the 24-hour English-language news and current affairs channel headquartered in Doha, Qatar.
- Alternative Press Index with ArchiveOxford Campus Users Only
Database of nearly 300 alternative, radical and left publications with a focus on the practice and theory of socialism, nat'l liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. - New York Times HistoricalFull text of the complete run of New York Times from 1851 to three years ago, with page images, individual articles, ads, and illustrationss in downloadable PDF.
- Chicago Tribune Historical(1849 - 1985) Full-text of every page of every issue, cover to cover, with full-page and article images in PDF format. Includes advertisments, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism and news.
- Wall Street Journal(1979 - ; Full-text 1984 - ) In-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first-rate coverage of hard news. Access through Factiva.
- National Journal(1977 - ) The weekly National Journal is one of the most important sources for coverage and analysis of politics, public policy, and government. If the website denies you access to an article, try searching for the article in Academic Search Complete.
- The Nation Archive(1865 - Present) Indices, abstracts, and full text for the complete archive of The Nation, beginning with its first issue in 1865. The Nation is America’s oldest weekly magazine and one if its premier journals of opinion since its inception.
- The National Review Archive(1955 - ) Provides first hand reports on national, international, and cultural affairs with focus on Washington and other political hot spots.
Imagery & Multimedia
- Vanderbilt Television News ArchiveThe Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news with news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.