International Studies: Encyclopedias & Reference

Best Bets

Columbia Gazetteer of the World This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative information on more than 170,000 places and areas around the world. Coverage extends beyond the country level to states, cities, towns, provinces, counties, villages, hamlets, and neighborhoods.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A site that presents multiple sides of an issue, this resource will allow readers to better understand controversial issues. Each topic contains an overview, a point (argument) and a counterpoint (opposing argument).
For each topic, there is a Guide to Critical Analysis, which helps the reader evaluate the controversial topics. Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. The database also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Provides analysis on issues in the news in the areas of political and social issues, health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the entire historical runs of more than 400 law journals with more being added regularly. Also includes World Constitutions Illustrated, International Law Association Reports, U.S. Treaties and Agreements, and resources from the European Centre for Minority Issues.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: International Relations This link opens in a new window
A guide to literature in the study of foreign affairs and political interaction between states.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of books, articles and reviews on Islam and the Muslim world