International Studies: Course Guides
STEP 1: Identify a place and peace accord
- Peace Accords MatrixSearch this database of peace agreements to identify a place and agreement you are interested in using for this project.
STEP 2: Research the context
What was the historical, political, economic, geographic, and cultural context of the conflict you chose?
Do these issue affect the peace accord and its implementation?
Use these research databases to find journal articles with more information.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from prehistory to the present. See America: History and Life for American and Canadian history. 1450 C.E. to the present.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
- International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProduced by the International Political Science Association, includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science from 1951 to the present.
- ATLA Religion Database and ATLASerials, Religion Collection This link opens in a new windowATLASerials Oxford campus users only; ATLA Religion Database available to all users. A comprehensive reference database designed to support religious and theological scholarship.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowOxford campus users only. Contains ethnographic information organized by regions, subregions, and cultures. This collection does not include all of the culture groups from the original HRAF files so be sure to consult the Encyclopedia of World Cultures if a culture group is not included in this collection.
- Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowGeobase is a database, within Engineering Village, of indexed research literature unequalled in its coverage of the international geoscience literature. Topics include: earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
- Requesting Books and Articles FlowchartDon't know how to get a book or article we don't have? Follow this decision tree.
STEP 3: What are current issues with the accord?
What current events are happening to indicate problematic issues with the accord?
Research newspapers and current events databases to identify what is happening now.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
