International Studies: ITS 201

Finding Secondary Sources

EconLit
Essential database for economics research.

EconLit indexes scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers throughout the field of Economics. Topics covered include economic development, forecasting, history, fiscal and monetary theory, business and public finance, healthcare economics, and international, regional, and urban economics.
Political Science Complete
Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.

PSC provides a subject-specific thesaurus with over 17,500 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers. Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
Environment Complete
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.

Subjects include: agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, and environmental technology. This is also a useful database for searching for "architecture sustainability" and "design sustainability".
Academic Search Complete
A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.

Country Information

Europa World Plus
Provides political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories. Information includes regional and country profiles, information on physical and social geography, history, economy, and country and comparative statistics. It also provides directory information for governmental, society, media, and business enterprises.

Current Events

NewsBank Access World News
International, national, regional, and local news sources from around the world.
New York Times
Go to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address.
NOTE: You need to be on campus when registering or renewing your account.

If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months from an on campus location, as prompted by the NYT
Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present)
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus.
- Go to the WSJ registration page.