International Studies: ITS 301/302
Country Information
Use the library catalog to find encyclopedias, introductions, and general information books.
-
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowSelect a country to learn about the history, economics, government, and politics of a particular country.
-
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowBrowse CULTURES by country to find out about what cultures are in a particular region and to learn more about each.
-
Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new windowCurrent information and data by country including government system and structure (legislature, cabinet, etc.), active political parties (coalitions, opposition, etc.), and connections to international organizations. Categorizes each country's government by type. Also includes profiles non-UN intergovernmental organizations, such as OPEC, NATO, the WTO, regional banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations. Published every 2 years.
Journal articles
Don't see a subject you need?
Go to the full list of subject research guides.
-
Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowOnline access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. 1990- present.
-
Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowEnvironment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
-
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
-
Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new windowProvides documents, interpretations, and analysis of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide. Includes: Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and others. 1900 - 2010. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online: International Relations This link opens in a new windowGuide to the current scholarship in International Relations, containing original commentary and annotations reviewed by international studies scholars and citations to current scholarship organized by topic.
-
Peace Research Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to individual papers given at every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by the British Library Document Supply Centre. Limited full-text.
Area resources
-
Africa-wide Information This link opens in a new windowLimited to 1 simultaneous user. A comprehensive index of information by Africans and about Africa. Topics include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism, and much more. Limited full-text.
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowOxford campus users only. Oxford campus users only. Contains citations on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
-
Border and Migration Studies This link opens in a new windowA collection that explores and provides historical background on select border areas in Asia, Africa, the Americas, and Europe in text, video, and images.
-
Caribbean Search This link opens in a new windowA full-text multidisciplinary database that provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region including scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and reference books.
-
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowA systematic bibliographic index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Includes Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses and Dissertations, MECAS Citations Database, and School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present). Limited full-text.
-
Mideastwire This link opens in a new window5 simultaneous users. A daily newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
-
European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies This link opens in a new windowEBSEES lists books, journal articles, reviews and theses on Eastern Europe (formerly Communist countries) published in Western Europe.
Current events
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the African American, Caribbean, African, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian and Pacific Islander, European and Eastern European, Hispanic, and Native peoples press.
-
The EconomistUse the "search within this publication" box, or use the dropdown to navigate by date
-
New York Times This link opens in a new windowGo to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address.
NOTE: You need to be on campus when registering or renewing your account.
Subject Guide
Katie Gibson
she/her
Contact:
203 King Library
513-529-0190
Subjects: Area Studies, Asian Studies, Asian-American Studies, Black World Studies, French, German, Global and Intercultural Studies, International Studies, Italian, Languages, Latin American Studies, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Russian, Eastern European, and Eurasian Studies, Spanish and Portuguese, Western (Individualized Studies)