International Studies: ITS 202
Finding articles & culture information
Country profiles
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowProvides political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories. Information includes regional and country profiles, information on physical and social geography, history, economy, and country and comparative statistics. It also provides directory information for governmental, society, media, and business enterprises.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowOxford campus users only. Contains ethnographic information organized by regions, subregions, and cultures. This collection does not include all of the culture groups from the original HRAF files so be sure to consult the Encyclopedia of World Cultures if a culture group is not included in this collection.
Finding Journal Articles
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowOnline access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. 1990- present.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Finding current events
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowUse this database to find current events and other opinion pieces.
Downloading Zotero
Zotero is a standalone program that works together with a browser extension. You should download and install both before getting started.
1. Go to www.zotero.org.
2. Click on the red button "Download Now".
3. Download Zotero 5.0 (Mac version is shown; it's also available for Windows and Linux) for the standalone program and the Word plugin.
4. Install the Chrome Connector (or Firefox or Safari) for the browser extension.
5. Create a free online account. This creates a space for you on the Zotero server and allows you to add or access your references from any computer through the Zotero interface.
