International Studies: ITS 201: Berdieva

Locate current events

Use the resources below to locate news about your issue.

New York Times
First-time users: Register with your Miami ID and password. Students will also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. Go to NYTimes.com to sign in after registering.

If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months from an on campus location, as prompted by the NYT
NewsBank Access World News
International, national, regional, and local news sources from around the world.

Use the following resources to do background research on your topic.

Find online encyclopedias on your topic:

Go to the library home page https://lib.miamioh.edu
In the search box, put your topic and "encyclopedia"
On the left of the results screen are narrowers. Click on "Material Type" and then select, electronic resources.
Select an encyclopedia, and click "connect to electronic book"
Search for your topic

Answer the following questions about your topic to help you narrow it to a specific topic:

What?
- What topic are you interested in? Are there related sub-topics?
  For example: environment in Brazil
  Sub-topics: deforestation, water pollution
Where?
- Is there a particular place this issue affects?
  For example: Deforestation in Altamira, Brazil
Who?
- Is there a particular group of people that this issue affects? Who are the main organizations, governments, etc. involved in solving it?
  For example: The Ituna-Itatá people in Altamira, Brazil

Policy File Index
Full-text public policy research and analysis
Political Science Complete
Research articles in political science, humanitarian issues, international relations, and NGOs

PSC provides a subject-specific thesaurus with over 17,500 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers. Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
Academic Search Complete
A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.