Literatures in English: Reference

Reference Works

Reference works are a good source to go to find out background information on a topic or to look up a quick fact. This page will combine both online and print reference works. Most of the print reference works will be located on the lower level of King, in the Instructional Media Center.

Online Reference Works

African-American Writers: A Dictionary
ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
American National Biography
Published in 24 volumes in 1999 and then online in 2000, the ANB includes biographies of more than 19,000 men and women whose lives have shaped American history and culture.

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biographical articles on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all subject areas from multiple Gale reference publications, such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Dictionary of American Biography, and Directo

Updated continuously
It combines biographies from multiple Gale reference publications, such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Dictionary of American Biography, and Directory of American Scholars, with articles from more than 300 magazines, such as American History, The Christian Century, and U.S. News & World Report.

Black Literature Criticism
Covers African American, Caribbean, and African writers who produce works in English. For each author it gives a biography, list of principal works, excerpted criticism, and an annotated further-reading list.

(2nd ed., 3 v., 2008, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center)
Encyclopedia of Travel Literature
ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American Literature
Covers American authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Designed for undergraduate students, this contains information on literary figures from all time periods writing in many genres. Includes resources such as: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (starting with vol. 95), and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature. In addition it provides selected full-text, excerpted critical materials, articles from 260 literary journals, and links to selected websites.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Lengthy articles, with bibliographies, on literary critics, schools, theories, and movements.
Literacy in America: An Encyclopedia of History, Theory, and Practice
ABC-CLIO

2002, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
Literary Movements for Students: Presenting Analysis, Context, and Criticism on Literary Movements
Entries provide in-depth historical background information on each movement as well as modern critical interpretation of each movement's characteristic styles and themes.
Literary Newsmakers for Students
Provides plot summary and discussion of recent, newsmaking novels, nonfiction books, poetry and drama. This is the third volume only in an annual series. Please check catalog for other volumes.Gale Virtual Reference Library

MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
List of periodicals in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography.

MLA Literary Research Guide (5th edition)
The Literary Research Guide is a selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics. It contains over 1,000 entries, including electronic resources, and is updated regularly.
Native American Literatures: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes
ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center

Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Chronicles the origin and historical use of every common word known to have been used in English since 1150. 2d ed., 20 v., 1989, updated on a quarterly basis culminating in a 3d ed., Oxford University Press
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies in Cinema and Media Studies has recruited many of the finest scholars in cinema and media studies to chart a path through the information thicket and toward a carefully organized, thoroughly peer-reviewed account of the most important books, articles, and Web sites.
Because the boundaries of the discipline are continuously debated and because technology is constantly changing, students and scholars find it difficult if not impossible to keep up with all the literature in their areas of expertise. Even familiar subjects such as a national cinema or the work of a canonical filmmaker are becoming less familiar as new approaches and new research redefine the field. Oxford Bibliographies in Cinema and Media Studies has recruited many of the finest scholars in cinema and media studies to chart a path through the information thicket and toward a carefully organized, thoroughly peer-reviewed account of the most important books, articles, and Web sites.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Note: 1 simultaneous user.

Contains 55,000 biographies of noteworthy people from all walks of life in the British past, including artists, scientists, writers, industrialists, performers, explorers, criminals, and eccentrics as well as politicians, church leaders, and soldiers, mariners, doctors, and lawyers. To search click on "Subscribers enter here" in the upper right corner.

Shakespeare for Students: Criticial Interpretations of Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry
Collection of essays by Shakespeare scholars. Each entry includes a plot synopsis, character list, discussion of principal themes and historical context, and a critical overview for 27 plays and the sonnets.
Writers Directory
Bibliographical, biographical and contact information for living authors worldwide who have at least one English publication.
Oxford Bibliography of Literary and Critical Theory
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.

MLA Style

MLA Style Quick Guide (from NMU)

MLA Handbook Call Number LB2369.G53 2009

OED Word of the Day

Print Reference Works

Print reference books related to the study of English are on the ground floor of King, in the IMC.

Here are a couple of basic titles that you might find helpful:

The Elements of Style by William Strunk and E.B.White. PE1408 .S772 2009

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric by Thomas Sloane. PN172 .E52 2001

Glossary of Literary Terms by M.H.Abrams. PN41.A184 2009

Historical Thesaurus of the Oxford English Dictionary edited by Christian Kay. Two volumes. PE1591 .H55 2009

Literary Research Guide by James L. Harner. PR83.H346 2008

The Penguin Dictionary of Critical Theory by David Macey. PN98.S6 M33 2001

Tips & More: Handouts

Tips for Finding Plays, Poems, and Short Stories
Tips for finding content and navigating our catalog, databases, and online collections.

Last Updated: Nov 5, 2024 4:52 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/english
Print Page

Subjects: English