Literatures in English: Literary Theory
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
This online reference source is an excellent place to begin if you are struggling to understand a type of theory or the work of a theorist.
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism This link opens in a new windowThis guide provides information on individual literary and cultural critics, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Online Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey in more than 300 alphabetically arranged entries.
- Oxford Bibliography of Literary and Critical TheoryDeveloped cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Year's Work in Critical & Cultural Theory
- The Year's Work in Critical and Cultural TheoryProvides a narrative bibliography of work in the field of critical and cultural theory, recording significant debates and issues of interest in a broad field of research in the humanities and social sciences. As the field of critical and cultural studies expands, so the range and scope of the volume grow, and volumes now include chapters on Queer theories and cultures and Film Studies.
Introductions
The Blackwell guide to literary theory by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PN94 .C38 2007ISBN: 0631232729Publication Date: 2007
Literary Theory: A Very Short Introduction (electronic resource) by
Culler offers insights into theories about the nature of language and meaning, looks at whether literature is a form of self-expression or a method of appeal to an audience, and outlines the ideas behind deconstruction and semiotics
Call Number: PN81 .C857 2011ISBN: 0191619485Publication Date: 2011
Literary theory : an introduction by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PN94 .E2 2008bISBN: 0816654476Publication Date: 2008
Critical Theory: the Key Concepts by
Critical Theory: The Key Concepts introduces over 300 widely-used terms, categories and ideas drawing upon well-established approaches like new historicism, postmodernism, psychoanalysis, Marxism, and narratology as well as many new critical theories of the last twenty years such as Actor-Network Theory, Global Studies, Critical Race Theory, and Speculative Realism. This book explains the key concepts at the heart of a wide range of influential theorists from Agamben to Zizek. Entries range from concise definitions to longer more explanatory essays and include terms such as: Aesthetics Desire Dissensus Dromocracy Hegemony Ideology Intersectionality Late Capitalism Performativity Race Suture Featuring cross-referencing throughout, a substantial bibliography and index, Critical Theory: The Key Concepts is an accessible and easy-to-use guide. This book is an invaluable introduction covering a wide range of subjects for anyone who is studying or has an interest in critical theory (past and present).
Call Number: B809.3ebISBN: 9781317514305Publication Date: 2015-04-17
Literature in the Digital Age by
Literature in a Digital Age: An Introduction guides readers through the most salient theoretical, interpretive, and creative possibilities opened up by the shift to digital literary forms such as e-books, digital archives, and electronic literature. While Digital Humanities (DH) has been hailed as the 'next big thing' in literary studies, many students and scholars remain perplexed as to what a DH approach to literature entails, and skeptical observers continue to see literature and the digital world as fundamentally incompatible. In its argument that digital and traditional scholarship should be placed in dialogue with each other, this book contextualizes the advent of the digital in literary theory, explores the new questions readers can ask of texts when they become digitized, and investigates the challenges that fresh forms of born-digital fiction pose to existing models of literary analysis.
ISBN: 9781107323551Publication Date: 2016-03-05
Literary Theory: the Complete Guide by
Bringing together Mary Klages's bestselling introductory books Literary Theory- A Guide for the Perplexed and Key Terms in Literary Theory into one fully integrated and substantially revised, expanded and updated volume, this is an accessible and authoritative guide for anyone entering the often bewildering world of literary theory for the first time. Literary Theory- The Complete Guide includes- e Accessible chapters on all the major schools of theory from deconstruction through psychoanalytic criticism to Marxism and postcolonialism e New chapters introducing ecocriticism and biographies e Expanded and updated guides to feminist theory, queer theory, postmodernism and globalization e New and fully integrated extracts of theoretical and literary texts to guide students through their use of theory e Accessible coverage of major theorists such as Saussure, Freud, Lacan, Foucault, Cixous, Deleuze and Guattari and Bhabha Each chapter now includes reflection questions for class discussion or independent study and a cross-referenced glossary of key terms covered, as well as updated guides to further reading on each topic. Literary Theory- The Complete Guide is an essential starting point for students of critical theory.
ISBN: 1472592743Publication Date: 2017-02-09
A Companion to Literary Theory by
Introduces readers to the modes of literary and cultural study of the previous half century A Companion to Literary Theory is a collection of 36 original essays, all by noted scholars in their field, designed to introduce the modes and ideas of contemporary literary and cultural theory. Arranged by topic rather than chronology, in order to highlight the relationships between earlier and most recent theoretical developments, the book groups its chapters into seven convenient sections: I. Literary Form: Narrative and Poetry; II. The Task of Reading; III. Literary Locations and Cultural Studies; IV. The Politics of Literature; V. Identities; VI. Bodies and Their Minds; and VII. Scientific Inflections. Allotting proper space to all areas of theory most relevant today, this comprehensive volume features three dozen masterfully written chapters covering such subjects as: Anglo-American New Criticism; Chicago Formalism; Russian Formalism; Derrida and Deconstruction; Empathy/Affect Studies; Foucault and Poststructuralism; Marx and Marxist Literary Theory; Postcolonial Studies; Ethnic Studies; Gender Theory; Freudian Psychoanalytic Criticism; Cognitive Literary Theory; Evolutionary Literary Theory; Cybernetics and Posthumanism; and much more. Features 36 essays by noted scholars in the field Fills a growing need for companion books that can guide readers through the thicket of ideas, systems, and terminologies Presents important contemporary literary theory while examining those of the past The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Literary Theory will be welcomed by college and university students seeking an accessible and authoritative guide to the complex and often intimidating modes of literary and cultural study of the previous half century.
ISBN: 9781118958735Publication Date: 2018-02-16
A Reader's Guide to Contemporary Literary Theory by
A Reader's Guide to Contemporary Literary Theory is a classic introduction to the complex yet crucial area of literary theory. This book is known for its clear, accessible style and its thorough, logical approach, guiding the reader through the essentials of literary theory. It includes two new chapters: 'New Materialisms' which incorporates ecocriticism, animal studies, posthumanism and thing theory; '21st Century and Future Developments' which includes technology, digital humanities, ethics and affect.
ISBN: 9781317422815Publication Date: 2016-12-19
Print Reference Books
Auger, Peter. The Anthem Dictionary of Literary Terms and Theory. King Reference | PN41 .A94 2010.
Hawthorn, Jeremy. A Glossary of Contemporary Literary Theory. King Reference | PN44.5 .H37 2000.
Ryan, Michael, ed. The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory. King Reference | PN81 .E435 2011. Three volumes.
Wolfreys, Julian, ed. The Continuum Encyclopedia of Modern Criticism and Theory. King Reference | PN94 .C695 2002.
Theory from Other Disciplines
Sometimes it's hard to find resources to understand a literary theory when it's "borrowed" from another discipline. The next couple of boxes give some resources for where to look for theory that comes from outside the literature discipline.
Philosophy
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowOxford campus users only. The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyGrant-supported, scholarly encyclopedia of philosophy, where each entry is maintained by an expert or group of experts in the field. (Metaphysics Research Lab, Center for the Study of Language and Information, Stanford University)
- Philosophy and LiteratureFor nearly fifty years, the journal Philosophy and Literature has explored the dialogue between literary and philosophical studies.
Psychology
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowPsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Linguistics
- Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. No full-text.
- International Encyclopedia of LinguisticsEncompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics.
Cultural Studies
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowIndex to academic research on women, gender studies, sexual diversity, gender identity, masculinity, feminism, and LGBTQ issues. 1930-present, although the bulk of the content is 1970s -present.
